Move oolong. Nothing to tea here.

I love tea. It’s great. And warm. And sweet (sometimes). It’s comfort in a cup. And it’s usually caffeinated. And who doesn’t occasionally love a good jolt?

While I love tea, when I go out to brunch or breakfast or Starbucks, I’m not going for the tea. I’m going for the latte, or coffee, or something similar. I  love lattes. The frothy milk, the wonderful creaminess.  The sheer indulgence of it. It’s divine.

But, sometimes I have a conundrum…sometimes I don’t want espresso. Sometimes I don’t want an entire 8 oz of whole milk. Sometimes, I just want some tea.

Enter the London Fog Latte.

It’s just what is sounds like. Strong black tea, lots of frothy milk. Mmmm. It’s made with Earl Grey, which I’ll admit is an acquired taste. Though if you like it, it’s fabulous. Especially in this creamy and wonderful drink.

I made this cuppa tea latte with 1% milk, and suffered not a bit. You can also make it with nondairy milk, if you so choose. I don’t have a fancy milk frother, either, and I got around that with my french press. It whips it up nicely. If you don’t have a french press, you can just take a whisk and beat the crap out of your milk until it froths up.

Isn’t that a great word? Froth? I’ve used it about 100 times already in this post. Anyway.

I hope you like it.

London Fog Latte 

earl1Ingredients

an earl grey tea bag (or two), or 1tsp of loose leaf tea
milk (any kind will work)
1/2 to 1 tsp vanilla extract
Cinnamon and sugar topping

Method

  1. Boil water and pour over Earl Grey tea leaves (or tea bags). Let steep for 3-5 minutes, depending on how strong you’d like your tea. I like mine fairly strong, so I go for the full 5 minutes, sometimes longer.earl2
  2. Grab your pretty cup, or sturdy mug. I’m not judging; sometimes you just need a BIG mug of tea, and other times you just want to be dainty and a lady. Go with your mood. Pour 1/2 to 1 tsp of vanilla extract into your cup. Next, strain the tea into the cup.earl3
  3. Pour your brewed tea into the cup and proceed to the milk.earl4
  4. Heat your milk on the stovetop, or in the microwave. Whichever way you choose, make sure that the milk doesn’t boil…this is important. If it boils, things get weird. And not in the good way.
  5. To froth your milk, if you don’ t have a real, fancy frother, you have a few options. And can still have fancy frothy milk in your very own home!
    1. If you have a French Press, you can pour the heated milk into the glass container, and briskly pump the press until the milk gets frothy and foamy. This takes about 20 to 30 seconds of quick pumping.
    2. If you have a whisk, you can beat the heated milk until it gets frothy. This way will take a bit longer than the French Press option.
  6. Once the milk has been sufficiently frothed to you liking, pour it into the mug with the tea, reserving the foam.earl7
  7. Once the milk is poured, scoop the foam out of the container and place on top. Sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.earl5 earl6

One thought on “Move oolong. Nothing to tea here.

Leave a comment