‘Sup Brew?

To keep with the warm, hearty beverage theme, I’m talking about Matcha [green tea] lattes today.tea6
I know. I know. I’m obsessed. What can I say? There’s something about a great cup of tea made into a decadent, foaming cup of deliciousness that speaks to me.
Ok, maybe it’s the heap of dairy, that looks like whipped cream, but isn’t that’s speaking to me. I’ve been cutting back on sweets (because it’s Lent) and fooling myself into thinking I’m getting a treat is actually helpful.
The brain is weird.
Normally , if you bring milk anywhere my green tea, I scoff and make an “ick” sound. Green tea with dairy? Scandal! Give me a squeeze of lemon and maybe a spot of honey any day.But, the rich and earthy Matcha powder is much different from the tea bags and the loose leaf traditional green tea. The Matcha really plays well with the creamy milk. They are buds, best friends, a perfect marriage. And while this latte would seem a bit heavy, I find it refreshing in a way. There’s something about green tea that just picks you up. Could it be…the caffeine?For a bit of extra indulgence in this latte, I’ve used honey as a sweetener. I don’t normally add sweetness to the drinks I make, but it just seems right with this one.

I also highly suggest that you invest in some good matcha powder. It can be a little pricey, but it’s one of those items that if you’re going to do, you should do well. I say this because I got a somewhat budget brand, and while it works, it doesn’t work as well as I feel some other brands I’ve gotten. If you just want to try out matcha to see how it goes, or you’re not that fussed…then by all means!

I advise the splurge not only because this latte is addicting, but also because whenever O made this, the matcha never quite mixes in completely with the water and milk and therefore clumps. It rather ruins an otherwise wonderful cuppa when you get a mouthful of what feels like sand.

My other word of advice is to run the powder through a fine mesh sieve to make sure there are no clumps in the first place. This makes a WORLD of difference. I didn’t do it in the pictures below, but I have for subsequent lattes. Seriously, this majorly aids in the “keeping the mixture smooth” department and it doesn’t add any extra time. While your water is boiling, you can smooth out the powder. Perfect.

Matcha Latte

Ingredientstea11 tsp. Matcha powder
1 Tbsp. hot water
1 cup milk (cows, almond, cashew, soy, etc)
1 tsp. honey (optional)

Method

  1. Sift green tea powder into the cup to get rid of the lumps in the powder. You will have to use a spoon to make sure that all the powder makes it through the sieve.
  2. Add hot (not boiling) water and stir until powder is all dissolved.tea2 tea3
  3. Meanwhile, heat your milk. This can be done simultaneously while the water works to a boil. You can do it in the microwave or on the stove. So many options.  Add milk and honey in a small saucepan (if using the stove) or a microwave safe glass container (if microwaving).
  4. Heat the milk over medium heat until small bubbles start to appear around the edge of the saucepan. Do not bring the milk to full boil. Turn off the heat. (If using the microwave, heat in 30 second bursts until the desired temperature is reached. I find this to be 2-3 times.)
  5. Froth the milk until foamy, using a frother (if you’re fancy and have one) or the French press method I talked about last post. This step is optional. It’s perfectly yummy straight up, which I have shown in the pictures.
  6. Add the hot milk and foam in the cup and dust the green tea powder on the top. tea4
  7. Enjoy.tea5

 

 

Leave a Reply

