I’m a pretty fungi…

Lot of people lichen me!mush1I love soup. I also love mushrooms. Therefore, mushroom soup should be a no brainer, yet I hardly ever make it. I don’t know why. Probably because I just forget about it.

Well, it’s been cold. I’ve been sick. And I’ve been wanting something warm and hearty. Enter mushroom soup. Not only are mushrooms high in zinc, which is awesome for fighting colds, but they are earthy and delicious. And filling and wonderful. I could wax poetic for days on the benefits of mushrooms.

I haven’t done it yet, but I really want to try my hand at growing my own mushrooms. There are kits everywhere that help you do this, and one day, I will! I think it’d be so fun. Maybe my sense of fun is a bit skewed….

Anyway, mushroom soup!

I came across the recipe today on Pinterest, and the photos looked so good. It was written up as a healthier version of the classic, canned cream of mushroom soup. Without the fat! Without the preservatives! Without the weird ingredients! With all the flavor!

My inner skeptic reared her head. Do you know what’s in the usual canned cream of mushroom soup? It’s not mushrooms, that’s for sure. I started reading the ingredients of this homemade version. Yes, all real ingredients. Nothing weird…but definitely not low fat or low salt. If and when I make this soup again, I’ll probably try pureeing 1/3 of the mushrooms to make the soup thicker, instead of using cornstarch and cream. We shall see. If you try it that way, definitely let me know how that goes!

Of course, I still didn’t make the recipe straight as written…when do I ever? Enter the usual Molly Mode of alteration! What you will see below is my changed version. I reduced the butter and the amount of cream. I added in sesame oil, which gives a wonderfully nutty flavor that I LOVE with mushrooms. It also brings out the earthiness of the mushrooms themselves.

Cream of Mushroom Soup
Slightly adapted from Damn Deliciousmush6Ingredientsmush22 tbsp butter
2 tbsp sesame oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 pounds cremini mushrooms, thinly sliced
1 onion, diced
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
1 cup red wine
4 cups chicken broth
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 to 1 full teaspoon dried thyme

Method

  1. Combine butter and sesame oil  in a large stockpot or Dutch oven, place over medium heat to melt the butter.
  2. Add garlic and mushrooms, and cook, stirring occasionally, until tender and browned, about 5-6 minutes; season with salt and pepper, to taste.mush3
  3. Stir in onion and cook, stirring frequently, until translucent, about 2-3 minutes.mush4
  4. Stir in wine and bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer until slightly reduced, about 5 minutes. Stir in chicken broth, heavy cream and thyme.mush5
  5. In a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch and 1/4 cup water. Stir in mixture to the soup until slightly thickened, about 1-2 minutes; season with salt and pepper, to taste. I enjoyed mine with a slice of that awesome bread I made last week. mush7

 

Leave a Reply

