Today’s recipe doesn’t lack apeel…

Sometimes I find myself just not in the mood to do much, especially when I am busy or have a lot on my mind…it happens. I can’t make complicated dishes every day. Sometimes I just want to do the minimal amount of work and still get maximum flavor when it comes to food.

When I’m feeling food lazy, I usually make banana pancakes. They are yummy. They have 2 ingredients. They are quick. Minimal fuss. Maximum flavor. When my brain slows down (because it’s summer, and summer time at the library is INSANE) it demands simplicity. 1It doesn’t get much simpler than 2 ingredient pancakes. Though, to be fair, if you add in spices and things, it’s slightly more than 2 ingredients. But, if you’re going classic, then the name holds true. Personally, I do love some cinnamon and vanilla and nutmeg in my pancakes. Or a dash of pumpkin pie spice to simplify things. Sometimes I throw in some nuts. Or top them with Greek yogurt and maple syrup. Or peanut butter.

What I’m trying to say, through my epic rambling, is that these pancakes are simple to make, delicious, and a wonderful canvas for flavors. They are fluffy and light. They are packed with protein, and just a hint of sweetness, without all the added sugar. They are satisfying.

If you find yourself unable to brain because you have the dumb, this is the recipe for you! I know I’ve shared a banana pancake recipe with you much, much earlier on in this blog, but this is the updated version, and oh so much better.

2 Ingredient Banana Pancakes

Ingredients62 eggs
1 ripe banana
optional ingredients
Pumpkin pie spice
Vanilla

Method

  1. In a medium bowl, mash the banana well. It doesn’t have to be completely smooth, some chunks are fine.
  2. Add in the eggs.
  3. Whisk to combine.5
  4. Stir in spices if using.
  5. Place a pan over medium heat, making sure to coat the pan well with cooking spray.
  6. Depending on your pan size, you can either make one big pancake, or several small pancakes. 4
  7. Cook the pancake(s) until the edges look set and lift slightly away from the pan. About 3-5 minutes3
  8. Flip the pancake(s) once and cook the other side until done. Another 3-5 minutes.
  9. Serve with yogurt or syrup or both.  (I put molasses and Greek yogurt on mine!)2

Leave a Reply

