What is the last piece of cheese called?

Forever provolone.

Warm weather makes me crave cool salads. Any kind. All kinds. Potato. Macaroni. Tuna. Pasta and veggie. But, I think my favorite salad combination is tomato, basil, and mozzarella, the classic caprese. Any which way I find that it is fabulous. And classic. And delicious.

Tomatoes being in season now, or at least more in season than they were in January, makes all the difference. They are sweet and juicy and delicious. Tomatoes are my summer spirit animal. I can’t get enough of them. In every way, shape, or form.

This salad is my own mashup and super simple to make. I had some leftover red quinoa and spinach in the fridge. To that, I added the tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil. Were I to make this again (which I will), I will add more spinach or kale or other leafy green, and some garlic. Wonderful.

Quinoa Caprese Salad

s1Ingredients
2 c cooked quinoa
1-2 c cooked leafy greens (spinach, kale, collard greens), chopped1/2 pint of cherry tomatoes, quartered
1/2-1 c cubed mozzarella cheese (or small indivdual mozz balls)
6-8 basil leaves, sliced
salt and pepper to taste
Olive oil to finish

Method

  1. Mix the quinoa, leafy greeens, tomatoes, mozzarella, and basil together in a large bowl. s6 s5 s4 s3 s2
  2. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Enjoy on a warm summer day.

Leave a comment