The grapefruit looked around his grape family and wondered…

Was he adopted?

The weather is warm and sunny. The days are long. The weekends are busy. And, while I’ve been cooking and baking up a storm, I haven’t actually been able to take time out to take silly pictures!

Boo, Molly, booo! So, come Wednesday, I start wondering what I can cook that is fast, delicious, and blog worthy? I start with a scramble around the kitchen. What do I have an abundance of? Spinach, tomatoes, grapefruit….hmmmm, grapefruit.

What kind of something can I make with that? Parfait? Meh. Creme brulee? Don’t have the cream. But, hmmm, brulee…I haven’t made bruleed grapefruit in a while. That could be good.

Now, while I have and use (probably more than any sane person needs to) my kitchen torch, I know not everyone has access to such a wonderful tool. Which is why I’ve adapted this recipe for the oven. I think it works slightly better in the oven. The entire fruit gets warmed through, and extra juicy. There is something about having a warm dessert that just pushes satisfaction over the edge for me. (Which I know isn’t the case for every dessert, or every person. I mean, hello…ice cream, cheese cake…) But for this one…it just works. And it works so gloriously well.

Bruleed Grapefruit

g2Ingredients

Grapefruit
Sugar (about 1 tbsp per half)
Salt (optional)g7Method

  1. Turn your oven onto its broil setting, or the highest it will go.
  2. Wash and dry the outside of the fruit(s).
  3. Slice each grapefruit in half.
  4. Trim 1/4–1/2″ of peel from bottom of each grapefruit half to stabilize the fruit and prevent it from rocking back and forth. g6
  5. Place grapefruit, with the fruit side up, on a baking sheet lined with foil.
  6. Cut around the outside of the fruit, between the flesh and the rind, being careful not to get too much of the white part. g4
  7. Carefully slice each of the segments. This will make eating easier, I promise. g5
  8. Sprinkle 1 Tbsp. sugar evenly over exposed flesh of each grapefruit half. g3
  9. Broil grapefruit, watching closely to prevent burning, until the sugar is melted and beginning to turn dark amber. i would suggest checking after 3-5 minutes. But, the sweet spot (depending on your oven) is around 8 minutes.
  10. Take the fruit out of the oven, sprinkle with a pinch of salt and let the grapefruit cool before serving.
  11. Om. Nom. Nom. g1
Leave a Reply

