What do you call a person who chops up cereal?

A cereal killer.

Greetings and salutations fellow food lovers! Today I am sharing another ‘keep the masses fed’ recipe; again from my excursion to Saratoga. As I had mentioned, our time on the floor is a long affair, so we need to keep our super energy up. While we do that with dance parties and picture-taking and general shenanigans, it only gets you so far.

Enter one of my favorite foods…peanut butter.

Yes. What better energy booster, flavor enhancer, and all around awesome ingredient? I stand by my previous statements that it is the perfect food.

But I can’t just bring a jar or four of peanut butter and 20 spoons! That’s just silly. While I was gearing up for the con, my mom kept talking about these granola bars that I (apparently) used to LOVE as a child. They (apparently) used shredded wheat biscuits and raisins and honey and were my favorite snack. And we had them almost every week for two years. And that they were the most requested snack, by me and my bitty friends, for quite some time.

Let me tell you, I do not recall said bars. Not even a bit. But, they sounded perfect for what I wanted to do, so I asked for the recipe.

And we couldn’t find it for the life of us. We tore the recipe card boxes and books apart. (Not literally, though. That would be a mess!) I turned to the interwebs to find it, thinking it would be an easy search. Everything is online and I’m an information finding professional…I’m a librarian after all!

Alas! Twas not there either! So, I cobbled together several recipes from online and my mother’s recollection and come up with what is below. It’s sweet, peanut buttery, has a slight crunch, and is delicious. What I really enjoyed about this recipe was the way the honey oozed out when you ate it, kind of like baklava. You know the sensation I mean? It makes whatever your eating feel wonderfully rich and decadent. There’s something I find wonderfully special about really good honey.

I digress. This recipe takes all of 10 minutes to pull together, plus a bit of chilling and setting time. Super simple, very tasty, and customizable.

Shredded Wheat Bars

Bar 6
Ingredients
1/4 c brown sugar
1/2 c
honey
3/4
c peanut butter, chunky or smooth is fine
2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 c toasted coconut
3 1/2 c
coarsely chopped shredded whole wheat cereal biscuits
3/4 cup raisins, nuts, seeds of choice

Method

  1. Combine brown sugar, honey, and peanut butter in a microwave-safe glass or ceramic bowl.
  2. Melt the peanut butter mixture in the microwave at 30 second intervals, stirring after each burst, for 1 to 2 minutes (depending on your microwave). It should be smooth and well mixed.bar 5
  3. Place the cinnamon, cereal, coconut, and raisins,nuts and/or seeds in a bowl and mix to combine.bars 3
  4. Pour the peanut butter and honey mixture over the cereal mixture. Stir to combine. bars 2
  5. Press cereal mixture into an 8 inch square pan sprayed with non-stick spray. bars 1
  6. Allow to cool and cut into bars.
Leave a Reply

