You wanna pizza me?!

Over the weekend, I was in Saratoga Springs, NY for the my first comic convention of the year with my group The Hero Army. That’s a link to their facebook page. You can check out some of our pictures, where we’ll be next, which charity events we’ll be popping up at, and other fun things. We were at the CT Children’s Hospital yesterday, and this coming weekend, we’ll be at the Southington Public Library for Free Comic Book Day! If you’re around, come check us out!hero armyCan you guess which CLOWN I am? That’s right. Harley Quinn. :)

Whenever we do events, we have tons of fun, but people forget that we are in fact working. e look like we’re having a blast, bouncing and bopping around (and we ARE), but we are also on the floor, entertaining, for about 6 to 8 hours at a time. And breaks are infrequent at best. And the only thing worse than a hero with sore feet is a HUNGRY hero. Think Hulk level anger. At least I know that is my part. Other people react differently–they get grumpy, or tired.

That’s where I come in. Part of my duties, in addition of being a character, is to make sure my fellow heroes are well nourished. That means snacks. And to me, snacks do NOT mean chips or cookies or ‘quick’ junk food. I like to make something that has a bit of good, a bit of bad, and a lot of fun.

Enter Pizza Bread. What can make (almost) everyone happy. Pizza. Always pizza. Cheese, and a good dough and some kind of topping. Fabulous. But not always practical. I mean, I can’t just whip out a pizza. So, I found a recipe for pizza bread. What better way to make a great snack even better? I mean, a very convenient and portable meal. Without the mess of hot cheese and drippy sauce–we do have complicated costumes to work with, you recall.

I had some left over roasted red peppers from my last recipe, and thought they would make a fabulous edition to the bread. I kept it veggie, since I wasn’t sure about the refrigeration situation at the con. But it was delicious. The bread was flavorful, the veggies perfectly cooked and dispersed. Just yum.

We ate it the day after I had baked it. It wasn’t as crispy as the day of, but that was still wonderful soft. It would make a GREAT sandwich bread. Just saying.

It is simple to make, it is tasty, and satisfying.

One small thing…after writing my entire post, I realized that I have NO pictures of the process to show you how tasty and tantalizing the bread was. However, I am still posting the recipe because it is WONDERFUL and easy and needs to be shared.

So I apologize for the lack of pictures. Instead I include a pizza pun instead. Because…pizza my heartAnd I promise pictures next post. Honest.

Veggie Pizza Bread
Adapted from Inspired by Charm

Ingredients
2 tsp yeast
1 ½ c warm water
3-4 c all-purpose flour
2 tsp kosher salt
1 ½ tbsp sugar
2 ½ c favorite toppings, diced (I used jarred sun-dried tomatoes, homemade roasted red peppers, roasted garlic, and diced onion. Other options are limitless!)
2 c shredded mozzarella
1 tbsp olive oil

Method

  1. Sprinkle yeast over warm water in a large bowl. Let it sit for 3 minutes.
  2. Start by adding in 3 1/3 cups of flour, the salt salt, and the sugar. Mix using a spoon just until it comes together. (There’s no need for a big stand mixer here.)
  3. Add in the toppings and combine well. The dough will be tacky. Dust with a bit more flour if it feels too tacky.
  4. Let the dough rise for about 1 hour in a warm place, then put it in the refrigerator to continue rising for another hour.
  5. After that hour, take the dough out of the refrigerator. Flour your counter top, and roll the dough into a rectangle about 11×17”.
  6. Sprinkle mozzarella over top. Then, fold along the long side, like an envelope.
  7. Seal sides so cheese is not exposed. Let your loaf rest while you preheat oven to 450 degrees F.
  8. Bake the bread, either on a pizza stone or baking sheet, for 30 to 35 minutes, until golden brown. The original recipe suggests placing a piece of aluminum foil over the top of the loaf about halfway through to prevent it from getting too dark. I didn’t do this, and mine came out perfectly brown.
  9. Another option would be a about 3 minutes before taking the bread out of the oven, lightly brush the top with olive oil and let it finish baking.
  10. Once done baking, let the loaf rest on a wire rack to cool slightly before slicing.
  11. It’s delicious on it’s own, or dipped in marinara sauce.
Leave a Reply

