Another whiskey comment?

That’s the spirit!

I enjoy a good whiskey drink–be it straight or mixed. The oaky flavor, the smoothness, the subtle sweetness…grand. Who cares if I’m a man from the 50s….

I don’t remember where I came across the recipe for a Homecoming Hero, but once I read it, I knew I had to make one.

It’s simple. It packs a punch. It’s wonderful. I highly suggest it.

The original recipe calls for cherry flavored brandy, but as is usual for me, I changed it a bit. I used the maraschino cherry liquor that I made a few weeks ago instead of the brandy. Not only because I wanted to try it and to find a use for the delicious cherries, but also because there is no cherry brandy in my bar downstairs. Alas. I’m sure the mixed drink purists are tearing their hair out at this point, but to them I say…just go with it. It’s delicious. If it helps, I’ll call it something other than a ‘Homecoming Hero’ so as not to bastardize the original.

I can say that the change was a wonderful success. If you happened to have made the cherry recipe, and you have some whiskey laying around, you definitely should think about giving this a go. It’s fun to share with friends at a party. It’s fabulous for a night on the town. It’s all around sip-able.

You’ll notice in the pictures there is a second bottle. It is a flavored brandy bottle, but I decided against using it. However, it rounded out the pictures nicely, so you will forgive the anachronism.

Molly’s Returning Rebel
Adapted from Cocktail Culture 14Ingredients
1 1/2 parts whiskey of choice
1 part (homemade) cherry liquor

Method

  1. Mix together.1312
  2. Serve over ice, garnished with a cherry.11
Leave a Reply

