I may be a whiskey maker…

…but he loves me still.

4

I have talked about my wanderlust before, but never my whiskey love, which seems weird since I’ve been writing on this blog for over 2 years. CRAZY.

As you might have guessed from my blog’s name, I enjoy a good wander, and I really enjoy a good whiskey. It’s a tough choice when there’s whiskey on the menu and when there’s a good Innis & Gunn (my favorite of which is aged in whiskey barrels…you see a trend). The white wines I enjoy most have a delicious smokey, oaky flavor, reminiscent of a good aged whiskey. I absolutely adore that combination of oak and smoke in my drinks, as I’ve come to realize, something that my boyfriend and I differ on at times. He loves the bold, buttery flavors in wines, darker, malty beers, and prefers a good tequila (which terrifies me).

I love that our tastes differ like this, it means we each get to try so many different combinations of drinks, so many different flavors that we wouldn’t otherwise try. Because who wants to drink an entire drink of something that isn’t quite your taste? But, taking a sip is great. (Just FYI, he’s the best and very understanding of my “oooh, let’s share. I’ll get this and you get that, please” tendencies.) It’s really fun being able to experience new food and drinks and adventures with someone who’s tastes align, but are not quite the same as yours.

If you haven’t tried it, come out with us!

Because I was born in the wrong era, and the wrong gender (apparently) one of my all-time favorite drinks is an Old Fashioned. I get them everywhere I go to try them out. It is essentially whiskey, bitters, a bit of orange, a bit of sugar, and maybe a bit of club soda, depending on who makes it. Also depending on who makes it, there might be a bit of cherry muddled in with the sugar. This apparently goes back to Prohibition times when they used the fruit to hide the taste of alcohol. Which is kind of cool to think about.

There are no end to the ways Old Fashioneds are made. Some, naturally, are better than others. I had a riff on one the other day when we went out to dinner that used thyme. It was amazing.

The first Old Fashioneds that I had out, and that I still have out, include that little muddled cherry. I do have a soft spot for maraschino cherries–on sundaes, or in Old Fashioneds, or Shirley Temples…those little bright red pops of color, that almost too-sweet flavor. However, what I don’t love is how artificial they are.

So, in trying to get my boyfriend to develop a taste of whiskey, I thought I would make him an Old Fashioned, with homemade maraschino cherries. Another fantastic whiskey drink to use for this is the Manhattan.

But first, the easiest recipe in the world. It makes a great Christmas gift. It takes 5 minutes to make, and it is absolutely worth the effort. These are tart, a bit sweet, have a real cherry flavor, and are great.

Homemade Maraschino Cherries
Recipe as seen on The Best Thing I Ever Made, from Ted Allen.
2

Ingredients
1 c maraschino cherry liquor
1 pint sour cherries, stemmed and pitted (in a pinch, you can buy a jar of sour cherries in light syrup, or water,  and drain them)
1

Method

  1. Bring the liqueur to a simmer, and then turn off the heat.3
  2. Add the cherries, stir, let cool, and then pour into jars.5
  3. Refrigerate. Cherries will be tasty for months.

Once your cherries are made and cooled, you can get mixing!

Here’s my recipe for an Old Fashioned.

Molly’s Memory Old Fashioned

Ingredients

1/2 of a sugar packet
3 dashes of bitters
1 small wedge orange
2 maraschino cherries
Ice, as needed
2 ounces bourbon
Club sodaMethod

  1. Add the sugar, bitters,  orange wedge and cherry to the bottom of an old fashioned glass.
    6
  2. Use a small spoon to muddle the sugar into the liquids so the sugar will begin to dissolve.
  3. Add ice to the glass and top with bourbon and club soda.
  4. Stir gently.
  5. Sip.
    7
3 thoughts on “I may be a whiskey maker…

Leave a Reply

