What do you call a peanut in a spacesuit?

An Astronut.

I love peanut butter cookies. I might even be so bold as to say they are my favorite type of cookie. Especially when the dough is rolled in sugar and then baked, creating a wonderful crunch and extra indulgence. I mean, do you really need more sugar in a cookie? While the real answer is no, the answer in this case is YES.

A few weekends ago, I went on a trip to VT Comic Con with some friends and The Hero Army. I wanted to make sure we were going to have something to snack on while we were there. I know I get really cranky when I don’t get to eat,and being cranky while surrounded by kids is not a good look. Don’t want to promote the idea that tantrums are ok…

While working conventions is awesome and extremely fun, it is also a very tiring process. Emotionally, physically, spiritually, ecumenically… There isn’t always time to grab a snack, healthy or otherwise. And not eating for a 7 or 8 hours definitely wearies a Hero’s performance.

Being titled Mommy Molly most of the time, I wanted to make sure my crew was at the very least slightly fed. I wanted something quick and tasty and that appealed to the kid in us. Hence the cookie.

But, I also wanted it to be healthy, filling, have protein, carbs, and healthy fat. Which generally takes cookies off the table. But I really had a craving for peanut butter cookies. And I wanted them. And I would be damned if I wasn’t going to have a healthy(ish) cookie to snack on.

After scouring the internet for some ideas, I came up with this amalgamation. I think it covers the basic points of cookie-dom while also inheriting the benefits of better eating. They came out very tasty.

Hungry Hungry Hero Cookies

Ingredients11 1/2 c rolled oats
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 c shelled pumpkin seeds
1 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
1/4 c butter, room temperature
3/4 c peanut butter
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 c dark or semisweet chocolate chunks or chips

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together oats, baking powder, pumpkin seeds, and chia seeds. Set aside.
  3. In a separate bowl , whisk together butter, peanut butter, eggs and vanilla.2
  4. Slowly stir the wet mixture into the dry oat mixture. Stir until just combined.3
  5. Stir in chocolate chips.
  6. Place scoops of dough onto cookie sheet. I used a cookie scoop, to keep the cookies uniform, but drop cookies work too. Each scoop was about 2 tbsp of dough.6 57
  7. Bake the cookies in the preheated oven for 10-12 minutes.89
  8. Cool and enjoy.10
Leave a Reply

