You might say that potato puns are…

A-pealing.
You already know about how we always have leftovers. And how a lot of those leftovers are mashed potatoes. And how I hate throwing any kind of food away.
But, I had already made gnocchi, I didn’t want pelmini, or perogi, and I didn’t just want to eat mashed potatoes.
I have been in a bread mood, so I thought I would make some kind of bread. One of the last potato breads I attempted to make got a little wonky, so I knew I wanted a different recipe. But I also knew that I wanted something that was reminiscent of a loaded baked potato. Chives and cheese and delicious.
I also didn’t want to wait the customary 4 or so hours to have bread. I was in a speedy and needy mood. I wanted a quick bread. I stumbled across a recipe, that I’ve adapted for you today, and it is divine.
I highly suggest this bread if you have leftover mashed potatoes. I highly suggest this bread even if you don’t have leftovers–just make some and then make some bread. Seriously. It’s wonderful, hearty, and full of loaded potato flavor. Simply fantastic.
Leftover Mashed Potato Bread
Adapted from here.
8
Ingredients
3/4 c cooked, mashed potato
3/4 c raw, grated potato
1 egg
1 egg white
1/3 c oil
3/4 c milk
3 tbsp chives, diced
3 c flour
1/4 c whole wheat flour
1 1/2 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp pepper
4 tbsp Parmesan cheese
2 cloves garlic, pressed
1Directions
  1. Mix the mashed potato with the grated potato. Stir in egg, egg white, oil, and milk until well combined.3
  2. In another bowl, stir together chives, flour, whole wheat flour, baking powder, garlic, pepper, and cheese.2 4
  3. Stir dry ingredients into wet ingredients until a soft dough forms.Preheat oven to 375. Lightly oil an 8 inch cast iron pan or spray with cooking spray. Set aside.5
  4. Lightly flour a work surface. Turn the dough out onto the flour and knead 6 – 7 times. 6Place dough into center of prepared cast iron pan and gently press into an 8 inch circle. Use a sharp knife to cut an “X” into the top.7
  5. Bake at 375 for about 45 – 55 minutes. It should be nicely browned and sound hollow when tapped.
  6. Remove from oven and let sit on wire rack for 5 minutes before removing from pan. Let cool for at least an hour before slicing, if you can wait that long.9
Leave a Reply

