Party?

Turnip the beet!
Sorry about the delay, fine-followers! But I am back! Only a day late, but definitely not a dollar short.Within these lines I have for you scrumptious glory.
I love beets. Really, when thinking about it, what food do I not love? It seems to be a common thread with me. I mean, it better be, this is a food blog after all.
But, back to the beets. I love their color and how they taste. I like them roasted and mashed, pureed and sauteed. In soup and on top of salad. Pickled and plain.  I love them in brownies and as a pasta sauce.
They are so versatile, they go with (almost) everything. My boyfriend will tell you otherwise…he strongly dislikes beets, but I’m working on him. Sadly, I don’t think I’m getting through. He is usually game for trying anything and everything I put in front of him, but I could tell by the “ew” face he made when I simply told him I had made beet gnocchi that a taste test wasn’t going to happen. So, sadly he doesn’t share my love for this red veg, but then again, that just means more beets for me. So…sort of a win?
I have made gnocchi with various kinds of potatoes before, but I hadn’t ever heard of it being made with beets. I thought it was a gorgeous idea. I mean, look at those vivid pillows of deliciousness!beet 1 I swear, that is all natural beet color. No extra color or photo manipulations have been added. How cool is that? Natural food is amazing. (And delicious).
These gnocchi are very light, I feel that they are lighter than the potato and pumpkin varieties I’ve made before. Maybe I finally mixed the dough right, or maybe it has something to do with the beets themselves. Whatever the reason, I acknowledge the gnocchi gods a good and merciful beings as I chow down on the positively fluffy gnocchi.
In addition to being light, the beets add a wonderful earthy, slightly sweet flavor. And when you combine that with sage, it’s dynamite. Throw some cheese on there and you are in heaven.
 Beet Gnocchi
Adapted from Food and Wine

Ingredients
2 pounds medium beets, scrubbed
Extra-virgin olive oil, for brushing
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper
1 c fresh ricotta
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Pinch of nutmeg
3/4 c freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
3 c all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

Method

  1. In a small sauce pan, place beets in 1 to 2 inches of water. Boil until a knife can be inserted into the beet without much resistance, about 15-20 minutes.
  2. Remove the pan from the heat, remove the beets from the pan and allow to cool enough to handle.
  3. Peel the beets and cut them into 1-inch pieces. chopTransfer the beets to a food processor and puree until completely smooth. Add 1-2 tbsp of water to help this process along.pureed
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle, combine 1 1/2 cups of the beet puree (reserve any remaining puree for another use) with the ricotta, egg, nutmeg, the 3/4 cup of Parmigiano and 1 tablespoon of salt.cheeseMix at low speed until combined.mix
  5. Using a rubber spatula, scrape down the side of the bowl. Sprinkle on the 3 cups of flour and mix at low speed until the dough just comes together, about 1 minute.flour
  6. Scrape the dough onto a lightly floured work surface and knead gently just until smooth but still slightly sticky. unkneedbeet 2Cover the dough with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes.rest
  7. Line a baking sheet with wax paper and generously dust with flour. Cut the gnocchi dough into 10 pieces and roll each piece into a 1/2-inch-thick rope. Cut the ropes into 1/2-inch pieces and transfer the gnocchi to the prepared baking sheet.beet 5
  8. Lightly oil another baking sheet. In a large, deep skillet of simmering salted water, cook the gnocchi, small batches at a time, until they rise to the surface, then simmer for 1 minute longer, or until they are cooked through.
  9. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the gnocchi to the oiled baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining uncooked gnocchi.
  10. Serve with a butter sage sauce and extra cheese, or any way you can dream up. beet 3
  11. If you don’t want to eat/cook all the gnocchi at one time, they can be prepared through Step 5 and frozen on the baking sheet, then transferred to a resealable plastic bag and frozen for up to 1 month. Cook without thawing.
One thought on “Party?

Leave a Reply

