The long and shortbread of it.

You may or may not know this, dear readers, but I am a huge nerd.

I love comics, graphic novels, superheroes, and all things awesome. I cosplay. I am a librarian.

Like the rest of the world, I loved Guardians of the Galaxy, and my heart melted for dancing Baby Groot. I wanted one to dance with every day. I mean…it was almost too adorable.

So, when Baby Groot cupcakes started sweeping the internet, I thought I would make my own version.
groot 4I used the Become a Baking Rockstar tutorial to make these cupcakes, through I used a different shortbread recipe, which is what I’m including below. I’m including the vanilla shortbread recipe, not the dark chocolate shortbread one. While that one was good, my taste-testers liked the look of the vanilla one more.

These cupcakes are as delicious as they are adorable. I am only including the recipe for one aspect of these cupcakes–I’m sure I will put up cupcake recipes and frosting recipes later. Otherwise, follow the recipes in the video.

Baby Groot will brighten anyone’s mood. And keep a look out for me at cons around New England. I’ll be the one with a big smile and baked goods.

Supergirl

Shortbread for Baby Groot
adapted from My Recipes

Ingredients

1 stick (1/2 cup) unsalted butter, softened
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon salt
2 cups all-purpose flour

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Line bottom and sides of a 13 x 9–inch baking pan with foil; coat foil with cooking spray, and set aside. Or use a baking mat.
  3. Weigh or lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and salt in a large bowl; stir with a whisk.
  4. Place butter, sugar, and vanilla in a medium bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed 2 minutes or until light and fluffy.
    groot1
  5. Add flour mixture, beating at low speed just until blended.
  6. Roll dough out to an even thickness and refrigerate until firm enough to cut out the Groot stencil (if you are making).
    groot2
  7. Once firm enough to hold the shape, and stenciled, bake the Baby Groots at 350° for 30 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.
  8. Cool in pan 5 minutes on a wire rack. Carefully lift from the pan; cool completely on a wire rack. Decorate accordingly and place in cupcakes.
    groot3

 

Leave a Reply

