Where do rich people eat their poultry?

The Chicken Wing

Today’s post is the second half of the birthday dinner that I made for the birthday girl who couldn’t make the dinner portion of the surprise party. I mean, it’s understandable, she didn’t know I was planning on a group of people coming to jump out, yell at her, and scare her. Ah well.

Today we have the meat. The main part of the dish. The substantial savory sustenance.

Today we have the chicken satay and peanut sauce recipe. I always worry that I won’t cook meat right, especially chicken. There are three levels of chicken cooking: the underdone window, a perfectly cooked chicken window, overdone-dry-as-dirt window.

chick1I always used to worry that I would under cook the chicken, and since no one wants food poisoning, my chicken would fly straight passed perfect and land squarely in dry-as-dirt. I have slowly gotten better with my chicken cooking abilities, and this time it came out perfectly. I mean, juicy and tender and wonderful. I was pretty impressed with myself. It’s the little things in life, really.

My advice on how to cook the perfect chicken is nothing new. Make sure your pan is very hot. Make sure it has a good coating of oil/butter or whatever you are using to grease it. And don’t poke, prod, or play with the meat. Let it sit and cook, turning only once. It will caramelize and become wonderful.

I swear.

I also have a confession, I didn’t have any jarred peanut butter for the sauce. So, I made my own. It came out great, don’t get me wrong, but it was a royal pain in the butt. The oils behave differently in homemade than in the jarred variety. So, if you are feeling ambitious and make your own peanut butter, just know that it will take about 1/4 cup or more to get the sauce thinned out. Don’t freak out, just keep adding the liquid. It will still taste great, it just needs to be dip-able.

 

Chicken Satay
Mostly cobbled together from Blue Apron

Ingredients
12 ounces sliced chicken breast, skin and bones removed
2 tbsp Soy Sauce
1 bunch Cilantro
1 red onion
3/4 c rice
2 tbsp sesame oil
1/4 c peanut butter
2 tbsp rice vinegar
12 wooden skewers

Method

  1. Place the chicken in a bowl with half of the soy sauce and toss to thoroughly coat; set aside to marinate.
    chick2
  2. In a small pot, cook the rice until the water is absorbed and the rice is cooked through. Fluff the finished rice with a fork.
  3. While the rice cooks, thread the marinated chicken onto the skewers. (You may have extra skewers.) chick3
  4. In a large pan (nonstick, if you have one), heat 2 teaspoons of oil on medium-high until hot. Add the skewered chicken and cook 3 to 4 minutes per side, or until browned and cooked through. Transfer the cooked chicken to a plate. chick4chick5
  5. While the chicken cooks, in a medium bowl, combine the peanut butter and the remaining soy sauce and sesame oil. Whisk in 2 to 3 tablespoons of water to achieve your desired consistency for dipping.
  6. Divide the cooked rice and the tomatoes salad (from the previous post) between your plates. Place the finished chicken skewers on top of the rice. Garnish with the remaining cilantro. Serve with the peanut sauce on the side for dipping. Enjoy!chick6
Leave a Reply

