I’ve got a scone to pick with you.

I love scones and tea. They are just wonderful. It’s so classic. And so pretty. Look at that?

scone8Scones put me in mind of England and New Zealand. I have some very fond memories of leisurely breakfasts over coffee with friends, enjoying those delicate confections. Mmmm, scones.

I don’t often makes scones, since the sheer amount of butter tends to put me off. So, I thought I would attempt to give them a healthy makeover.

I had been seeing a bunch of vegan scone recipes around and wanted to try them. The recipe below is a combination of several recipes that I’ve cobbled together. Tweak it as you will. I am notorious for undersweetening. I find too much sugar a problem. Plus, I like to enjoy my scones with tea and honey.
scone9Also, while the recipe says scones, they are more like delicious cookie biscuits. It’s hard to achieve the same consistency of a regular scone in a vegan scone without the use of butter or oil. I figured I would give these a try. They are delicious, if a bit deceptive in the name.

These scones are delicious as they are, but they would be wonderful with nuts or berries mixed in. It’s up to you! If you don’t want to buy oat flour, just take some oats and chop them up in the blender until they form flour. It’s cheaper to DIY anyway.

These scones make a great bottom for strawberry shortcakes and whipped cream. The shine with tea or coffee. Heck, they’re fantastic on their own.

Vegan Scones

Ingredients

1/2 c unsweetened non-dairy milk
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1/2 c unsweetened apple sauce
1/2 c nut butter of your choice (I used sunflower seed)
1 c whole wheat flour
1 c oat flour
1/2 c brown sugar
2 tsp baking powder
a pinch of salt
1 tsp vanilla
2 tsp cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground cloves

Method

    1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
    2. Combine the nondairy milk and the vinegar. Allow to sit for 5-10 minutes. Then add the vanilla.
      scone2
    3. Combine the dry ingredients in one bowl. Whisk to mix.scone3
    4. Create a well in the center of the dry ingredients.
    5. Pour the apple sauce, vanilla, nut butter, and milk/vinegar mixture into the well.scone4
    6. Mix until the dough just comes together. Do not over mix.If the dough looks too wet, at more flour, 1 tbsp at a time, until a more workable consistency.
      scone5
    7. Using a cookie scoop, or two spoons, scoop the dough onto a prepared cookie sheet.
      scone6
    8. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes, or until firm to touch.scone7
    9. Enjoy with tea or coffee.scone10
Leave a Reply

