Where did the radishes go to have a few drinks?

The salad bar.

I love summer. It’s warm and wonderful. The days are long and there is fun to be had.

Even when it’s too hot I’m happy.  Mostly I am ok with it being too hot because I have experienced an entire year of winter. When I left for NZ to get my master’s, I left CT in February…already solidly into winter. When I got to NZ it was fall and quickly turning into cold. When I came back from NZ, I left in November…back to fall and winter in the States.

It was an interesting experience.

But, that might not be the only reason I am ok with the hot…I also have fantastic access to A.C.

The hotter it gets, it seems like the less I want to eat. I’m still hungry, but I like to eat fresher, lighter fare.

This salad does the trick. It’s got a bit of a bite from the radish, a sweetness from the carrots, a little tartness from the vinegar, and don’t even get me started on the dill.

I’ve shared with you all my recent obsession with dill. I still can’t explain why I have been craving this herb so much, but I have been putting it in everything from eggs to pretzels.

I hope you enjoy this salad as much as I did.

Summer Radish and Carrot Salad salad3

Ingredients

2-3 c thinly sliced radishes (about 30 radishes)
1 1/2 c thinly sliced carrot
1 1/2 c thinly sliced cucumber
1/2 c apple cider vinegar
1/4 c fresh squeezed orange juice
1 tbsp honey
2-3 tbsp chopped fresh dill
2-3 tsp orange zest
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp Dijon mustard
salt and pepper, to taste

Method

  1. Combine first 3 ingredients in a large bowl.salad2
  2. In a separate bowl, combine the remaining ingredients, except the salt and pepper, stirring vigorously to combine.
    salad1
  3. Drizzle dressing over slaw; toss well to combine. Season with salt and pepper.
  4. Serve immediately. This salad will keep in the fridge for about 4 days; though, I doubt it will last that long.
Leave a Reply

