What does a nosey pepper do?

It gets jalapeño business.

I have to give credit for that pun to my boyfriend’s sister Maddy. She’s the one who first told it to me. Fantastic. Definitely giggled longer than I should have for that one. Puns are fun.

I love peppers of all kinds and spices. I also love Mexican food. What I don’t love about Mexican food is the amount of cheese, fat, and otherwise heavy things that usually accompany it (I mean, it tastes fantastic at the time….but then, about 20 minutes afterward, all it tastes like is regret).

I got an intense craving for both peppers and Mexican food, so decided to combine my two loves into one: a Mexican-inspired stuffed pepper. That was also much healthier, without sacrificing any of the flavor I craved.

I included all the elements I love–rice, beans, the spices, and kept it simple. I also kept it meat-free, since I needed a bit of a break. Sometimes the body just tells you to take a break. This was one of those times. This recipe definitely doesn’t lose anything for being meat-free. In fact, it might even be better because of it.

Of course, I will most likely experiment with meat of some kind in it at another time. That’s just how I roll.

Mexican-Inspired Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients
stuffed2

  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
    1/2 red onion, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  •  8 ounces black beans
  • 12 ounces corn kernels, fresh or frozen
  • 1/2 c uncooked quinoa
    1/2 c black rice
    1 c shelled edamame
  •  2 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 c fresh cilantro leaves
  • 4 red bell peppers, sliced lengthwise and seeds removed
  • 1-1/2 tsp dried oregano
  • 1-1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1-1/4 cups fresh cilantro, chopped

Method

  1. Cook the quinoa in boiling water until they pop into little spirals, about 15 minutes. Drain and set aside.
  2. Cook the black rice at the same time–times vary, so check your package.
    stuffed1
  3. Heat 2 tablespoons oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Add the onions and sauté until they start to soften, about 4 minutes. Add the jalapeno and garlic; sauté another minute, until fragrant.
    stuffed3
  4. Add the black beans, corn, and edamame; cook for 5 minutes, until warmed. Add the cooked quinoa, rice, lime juice, cilantro leaves, cumin, oregano, and a good pinch of salt and pepper. Give it a good stir to evenly mix everything together.
    stuffed4
  5. Stuff the mixture into each pepper half.
    stuffed 5
  6. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the peppers have softened.stuffed5
  7. Remove from oven and serve immediately. I think a nice dollop of sour cream really adds to the deliciousness factor.
    stuffed7
Leave a Reply

