I once stole a dried grape from a cow

Talk about unraisin-a-bull behavior.

I have been on a granola kick. It’s just so wonderful and tasty and fantastic. This time? It’s the wonderful crunchy texture of quinoa granola…because traditional oat granola is so several weeks ago.

4

You read right! Quinoa. That delicious, nutty little grain. And I just couldn’t leave well-enough alone. I thought I would try to make granola out of it, since every diet can use more quinoa (and, of course, more granola).  Now, I don’t know about you, but I love oatmeal raisin cookies. There is something so wholesome and wonderful about them. They make me think of my childhood. But, as with all cookies, they are full of things that aren’t the best for me. Normally I don’t care…but when you go on a cookie binge, you start to sort out your priorities.

In my case, I wanted all the flavor of the cookie, without all the fat and sugar. I think this is a nice compromise; especially when you eat a bowlful with milk.

Added bonus: This is my own recipe!

Cinnamon Raisin Quinoa Granola

3

Ingredients

3 c steel cut oats
1 1/2 c quiona (uncooked)
1 c coconut
1 c chopped pecans
1/3 c hemp seeds (optional)
1/3 c maple syrup
2 tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1-2 tsp pure vanilla extract
pinch of salt
2 egg whites
1 c raisins

1

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Toss all the dry ingredients, spices, and salt together in a large bowl.
  3. In a smaller bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, vanilla, and maple syrup.
  4. Pour the liquids over the dry mixture.  Stir with a wooden spoon until the  mixture is evenly coated.
  5. In a small cup, beat the two egg whites until they just start getting frothy.
  6. Stir into the granola mixture, making sure to distribute that mixture evenly.
  7. Pour onto a parchment-lined baking sheet.
    2
  8. Place into the preheated oven to bake for about 25-30 minutes. About halfway through the baking time, use a large spatula to carefully flip the granola, breaking them up as little as possible. Rotate the pan if it looks like part of the granola is getting more brown than other sections.
  9. When the granola is evenly browned and dry to the touch, remove from the oven and allow to cool completely.
  10. Once cools, break the granola into clusters, sprinkle in the raisins and enjoy.
  11. Serve with yogurt or milk and fruit. Or eat by the handful!
    5
Leave a Reply

