What do my friends say about all these food jokes?

I artichoke you for those veggie puns.

a5Today I have one of the most simple and most mind-blowingly delicious recipes for you: Roasted artichokes. Seriously. Look at it. It’s divine.

I mean, how often do you pass by those little green beauties in the grocery store because you just don’t know what to do with them? They’re prickly on the outside, there are just so many damn layers that you don’t really DO anything with, and they are so much work for so little reward.

Alas, my friends, fret no longer. Below I have included the directions to a happy, artichoke full existence. Once you get to the sweet roasted middle, your life will change. The creamy leaves that surround it are merely a teasing appetizer for the wonderful center to come.

And the roasted garlic nestled between the leaves? Not only does it lend a wonderful flavor to the artichoke itself, those little babies are like tiny pops of garlic delight.

I don’t know what’s come over me; I’m in a roasted artichoke daze. Suffice it to say, you should make this right now. No pressure.

I had planned to use these roasted artichokes on a pizza I was making in the evening. But, once they came out of the oven, I couldn’t resist trying one. They were more delicious than they had any right to be for being so simple. I am finding more and more that simple food is often the best. I’m sure you, dear experienced Reader, already knows this; but I thought I would share my wisdom so we can have yet another thing common, apart from our love of food and puns.

With such a simple recipe, you can really taste all the beautiful components-the garlic, the lemon, the artichoke itself the love. Simply divine.

I think this recipe was meant as a redeemer. The first time I ever had a fresh artichoke, it was a rather meh experience. I went to dinner at my boyfriend-at-the-time’s apartment. I had never had a fresh artichoke before, so I didn’t know what to expect. He hyped them up something shocking, saying how wonderful they were and how good they would taste. He also did nothing but talk about how much work they were, and how much effort he had put into cooking them for me.

When I took a one of the leaves (got pricked for my trouble) and took a bite, I did the dutiful girlfriend bit and exclaimed over how wonderful they tasted. I wasn’t impressed, sadly. I couldn’t tell you now what they tasted like. Clearly nothing. I knew he tried, but…it just wasn’t it. We have since broken up (a long while ago).  ((It wasn’t because of the sub-par artichokes.))

This recipe makes up for that sad artichoke, and all other sad artichokes.

Molly’s Roasted Artichokes

a1

Ingredients

3 artichokes
1/2 lemon
3-5 cloves of garlic
olive oil
sea salt

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  2. Cut the top 1/3 off of the artichoke with a sharp knife. Then cut off the stem close to the base; the artichoke should stand on its own once the stem is removed.
    a2
  3. Grab three squares of tinfoil and drizzle with olive oil.
  4. Next, place the cut artichokes on the oiled tinfoil. Spread the artichoke leaves out as much as you can with your fingers. Stuff 1 or 2 cloves of garlic between the leaves, close to the center of each artichoke.
    a3
  5. Drizzle each artichoke with 1/3 of the lemon and 1 Tablespoon olive oil. Season with salt.
  6. Wrap the foil around the artichoke, forming a tight packet. Place each packet on a baking sheet, in case of a juice leakage. Hopefully there won’t be any…make sure the packet is tight! Don’t want to lose any of the deliciousness.
  7. Roast for 75 minutes.
  8. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.
    a4
  9. Eat!
    a6

I’ve also done these by drizzling a bit of balsamic vinegar over the top of each artichoke before roasting them, which is also wonderful and I highly recommend it.

Nom nom nom.

Leave a Reply

