What’cha bacon?

Biscuits.

b5The answer is always biscuits.

What kind of biscuit, you ask? Why bacon buttermilk biscuits, of course!

I have been having biscuit cravings like nobody’s business. All I want is a big, fluffy biscuit slathered in butter and molasses. I have no idea why, but I know my boyfriend will be happy. He’s the one who introduced me to the glory of a buttermilk biscuit and molasses. Life has never been the same. A perfectly flaky biscuit, combined with the sticky, dark complexity of a good molasses, can’t be beat. It exemplifies love.

While pondering the more delicious aspects of a proper biscuit one morning, my dad says to me, “You know what this town needs? A shop that sells nothing but biscuits. Biscuits with eggs, or jelly, or just toasted and slathered in butter. I think that would be really great. We don’t have anything like that.”

So what did I do? Well, apart from brainstorming about how I can make this shop happen and wondering if such a shop would work in New England, I set about trying to perfect a biscuit recipe in the hopes that, one day, I can open such a shop. Until then, I will be smothering my loved ones with love homemade biscuits.

I got today’s recipe from Deb Perelman’s book, The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook, so you know it’s awesome. It is for a buttermilk biscuit that contains bacon AND maple syrup. It is wonderful. Each biscuit has little sweet pockets of maple syrup, and bits of crunchy bacon.

My dad and I ate them straight from the oven with our eggs.

b4

My  mom ate hers with jelly. My boyfriend at his cold and straight up. Really, there is no wrong way to eat a biscuit. Unless you aren’t eating one; that is very wrong.

Maple Bacon Buttermilk Biscuits

Ingredients

  • 3 slices bacon, cooked until crisp
    • fat from the pan put to the side and reserved, about 2 tbsp
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 cups flour, plus more for work surface
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Approximately 4 tbsp unsalted butter, chilled and chopped into easy-to-manage chunks *(see note below)
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk

Note: You want 8 Tbsp of fat total between the butter and the bacon fat that you reserved from cooking the bacon. If you end up with more (or less) bacon fat than 2 tbsp, you can increase or decrease the butter accordingly. Trust me, though you make be balking at using the bacon fat…it is absolutely worth it. And if I, the girl notorious for reducing fat at all cost in recipes, is telling you to include the fat….INCLUDE IT. For the love of and protection from the bacon gods, include it.

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 425.
  2. Fry the bacon until crisp.
    b 1Remove the bacon from the pan and drain it on a few stacked paper towels.
    Pour the bacon fat into a class measuring cup, so you can see how much you have. Place the cup in the freezer, and freeze until the fat is solid.
  3. Chop the bacon into small bits, and place in a small dish. Pour the maple syrup over the bacon and stir; set this mixture aside.
    b 2
  4. In a large bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt together and add the butter chunks and the solidified bacon grease (use a spoon to scrape out the measuring cup).
  5. Using a pastry cutter or your hands, cut the butter and bacon grease into the dry ingredients until well mixed (no large chunks) and the mixture is the texture of coarse meal.
  6. Add the buttermilk and maple-bacon mixture and blend together until it is evenly moistened. Knead just a couple times (as little as needed) to for the scraps into a dough. Not too much or the biscuits will get tough.
  7. On your well-floured surface, pat the dough into a 1-inch thick round. Cut out biscuits with a 2-inch cutter.
  8. Place biscuits on a baking sheet so they are just not touching one another.
    b3
  9. Bake 12-14 minutes or until they are puffy and golden.
    b5
  10. Serve warm.

My recipe made about 8 biscuits. They didn’t even last 24 hours. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

