Bakeries find out how the business is doing with a pie chart.

Yesterday was Fat Tuesday, and that means it is now Lent. I am not the strictest of Catholics, but I do follow the “giving up of something tradition” before Easter. Every year I give up junk food. That means no cookies, no cake, no brownies, no candies….no chips, or fries, or anything of the like. For 40 days. So, I took Fat Tuesday to celebrate and get in a last hurrah.

I was going to do something more Mardi Gras related, but alas. I was called in for a double shift for work and that plan fell through. Hence why you are getting this today. I have no regrets.

I love cookies. I think most people have a soft spot in the hearts for these sweet little confections. They are just comfy and wonderful. Sitting with a cookie and a glass of milk can make any day better. Unless you eat too many cookies (yes, there is such a thing).

In my quest to find which birthday cake I would be making for myself this year, I stumbled across Momofuku’s Confetti cookies, in their cookbook. I knew I had to try them. I love Funfetti. However, I do not love box mixes. I have a problem with prepackaged foods in general, especially when I can’t pronounce the ingredients on the back. So, I don’t often get to indulge in the terrible goodness of boxed cake mix. I think I also have a problem with cake mixes because the cakes come out SO DAMN PERFECT every time. Stupid box mix.

Anyway, the recipe said these cookies mimicked the flavor of Funfetti to the letter, and I knew I had to try making them myself.

While these do take a bit of prep to make, it is absolutely worth every step. Hell, the cake crumb ALONE is worth every step. As for delivery on taste: nothing short of amazing. Everything promised was delivered

A couple of notes:

I used a normal sized cookie scoop, not the ‘recommended’ size of 1/3 cup. That is a ridiculously sized cookie. And I don’t know about you, but I usually eat 2 cookies at a time. If I ate two cookies that size, I would get horrendously sick! So, smaller size it is. If you are like me and do this, reduce the cooking time for the smaller cookie to between 9-12 minutes and check on them from there. Mine got a little less chewy and a little more crunchy because they were over cooked. I think you will like them better chewy. I know I do.

Make sure that your milk powder has no lumps. A couple lumps snuck through into my batter and if you get a hunk of milk powder it is…unpleasant. So, yeah. Do that.

It might be helpful to double the cake crumb recipe…you might consume a lot of it. Just speaking from experience.

Confetti Cookies
From Momofuku Milk Bar Cookbook, by Christina Tosi

cooke

Ingredients

  • 16 tablespoons (2 sticks) butter, at room temperature
  •  1 1/2 cups  sugar
  • 1 tablespoon corn syrup (You probably don’t really need it, but make it the right  way once before omitting)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons  clear vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 2/3 cup  milk powder
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup  rainbow sprinkles
  • 1/2 recipe Birthday Cake Crumb (recipe follows)

  • Birthday Cake Crumb
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons light brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 3/4 cup cake flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 tablespoons rainbow sprinkles
  • 1/4 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 tablespoon clear vanilla extract

Method

  1. For the Birthday Cake Crumb: Heat the oven to 300°F.

  2. Combine the sugars, flour, baking powder, salt, and sprinkles in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and mix on low speed until well combined.

  3. Add the oil and vanilla and paddle again to distribute. The wet ingredients will act as glue to help the dry ingredients form small clusters; continue paddling until that happens. It will not be completely mixed. This is ok.

  4. Spread the clusters on a parchment- or Silpat-lined sheet pan. Bake for 20 minutes, breaking them up occasionally. The crumbs should still be slightly moist to the touch; they will dry and harden as they cool.

  5. Let the crumbs cool completely before using in a recipe or scarfing by the handful. Stored in an airtight container, the crumbs will keep fresh for 1 week at room temperature or 1 month in the fridge or freezer.
    crumbs

  6. For the Confetti Cookies Combine the butter, sugar, and glucose in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment and cream together on medium-high for 2 to 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides of the bowl, add the eggs and vanilla, and beat for 7 to 8 minutes.

  7. Reduce the mixer speed to low and add the flour, milk powder, cream of tartar, baking soda, salt, and rainbow sprinkles. Mix just until the dough comes together, no longer than 1 minute. (Do not walk away from the machine during this step, or you will risk over-mixing the dough.) Scrape down the sides of the bowl with a spatula.

  8. Still on low speed, add the birthday cake crumbs and mix in for 30 seconds—just until they are incorporated.

  9. Using a 2 3/4-ounce ice cream scoop (or a 1/3-cup measure), portion out the dough onto a parchment-lined sheet pan. Pat the tops of the cookie dough domes flat. Wrap the sheet pan tightly in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour, or up to 1 week. Do not bake your cookies from room temperature—they will not bake properly.

  10. Heat the oven to 350°F.

  11. Arrange the chilled dough a minimum of 4 inches apart on parchment- or Silpat-lined sheet pans. Bake for 18 minutes. The cookies will puff, crackle, and spread. After 18 minutes, they should be very lightly browned on the edges (golden brown on the bottom). The centers will show just the beginning signs of color. Leave the cookies in the oven for an additional minute or so if the colors don’t match and the cookies still seem pale and doughy on the surface.
    dough cookies
  12. Cool the cookies completely on the sheet pans before transferring to a plate or an airtight container for storage. At room temp, the cookies will keep fresh for 5 days; in the freezer, they will keep for 1 month. (Who are we kidding? They won’t last the week.)
    cookee

Leave a Reply

