Are you sitting on a great fish pun?

Don’t be koi, let minnow what it is!

Almost every summer, my dad and I go deep sea fishing. I love being out on the water, with the wind and the sun and the waves. I love the fishing and mostly I love spending time with my dad. And the other great part? We get to take home delicious fresh fish! Mmm.

The only problem? Only I eat our catch, and we end up giving most of the fish away. I have been trying different recipes to get my parents eating more fish, and some of them work, but there are lots that I try that I end up eating all alone. Which is ok. I just like cooking for crowds better.

For whatever reason, I have been seeing an abundance of paella recipes floating about the internet and on cooking shows. Usually when I see a recipe a bunch of times, I take it as a sign to get make it. The cosmos have spoken.

I love paella. Traditional paella usually contains a mix of seafood, sometimes chicken or sausage, and of course rice. This one is tweaked a bit and only includes sea bass and edamame. I wanted a more veggie centric dish, and I think this recipe reflects that desire, without sacrificing the flavors.

Sea Bass and Edamame Paella
Adapted from Self.com

paella 2

INGREDIENTS

2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon saffron threads
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
1 can diced tomatoes
3-4 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme or 1 tsp dried
salt and pepper, to taste
1 cup short-grain rice (such as arborio)
1 cup frozen shelled edamame, thawed
1-2 lbs sea bass, cut into bit sized chunks
1-2 cups frozen peas, thawed
Method
  1. In a small pan, heat broth until simmering; turn off heat.
  2. Add saffron and let sit.
  3. Meanwhile, in a large nonstick skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Cook onion and bell peppers, covered, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes.
  4. Add the tomatoes, garlic, thyme, salt and pepper. Cook, stirring, until liquid has almost completely reduced, 3 minutes.
  5. Stir in rice. Stirring to coat the rice for about 1 minute.
  6. Add the broth and bring to a boil. Reduce heat until the liquid is simmering. Simmer, covered, for 15 minutes.
    Add edamame and sea bass. Replaced the cover and simmer until the fish is fully cooked, about 8-10 minutes. Add the peas.
    paella 1
  7. Turn off the heat and let rest 5 minutes.
  8. Enjoy.
    paella 3
Leave a Reply

