Don’t egg people on. It’s batter not to.

birthday!Guess what day. It. Is.

It’s my birthDAY! (And it’s Wednesday !)

Yay!

That is all. Now back to our regularly scheduled post.

I don’t know if it’s the weather, the season, or something else entirely, but I have been craving pancakes. Warm, fluffy, maple syrup-y, delicious pancakes. There is only one problem…I hate making a huge batch of pancakes for just me. Pancakes are a treat. Pancakes are a weekend breakfast affair for four or more. They are meant to be shared and savored with lots of family and friends around a big table. I say lots because whenever I cook, I usually make enough to feed 10 people, even if the recipe claims it will only make enough for 4.

This is my dilemma: how to satisfy my pancake craving, without having enough left over pancakes to eat them for 3 meals a day for the next few days. I try to scale my recipe down, but it never comes out the right way. I know I could freeze them for later, but they never taste as good reheated.

So, I’ve been doing some research into single serving pancakes. Lots of research. Some with egg whites, some with bananas, some with oats. All are tasty, but none are quite hitting the spot either. Does that stop me? NO! Perseverance is key!

Today’s recipe is my latest pancake attempt: single serve carrot cake pancakes. This pancake is definitely yummy; the carrot cake flavor is a nice change, and sneaks in some veggies. The pancake itself is hearty, filling, and warm. As you will see, this is not a traditional pancake, at least not by my pancake standards, and therefore didn’t quite satisfy my craving. I would also say that this pancake can be, and should be, shared. It’s huge. It puffed up much more than I was expecting. It was like an inch high!  I loved that it was so fluffy and light, despite being made with oats.

I think if you paired half of this pancake with some sliced fruit and tea, it would be the perfect breakfast to share.

To share, or not to share: A Carrot Cake Pancake
Adapted from hungryhealthygirl.com

I just want to note that this is not a small plate. It is a full-sized dinner plate. Hence the HUGE pancake

I just want to note that this is not a small plate: it is a full-sized dinner plate. Hence the HUGE pancake

Ingredients

1/3 cup + 2 tbsp rolled oats
1 egg + 1 egg white, whisked
¼ cup shredded carrot
1 heaping tbsp raisins, currants, or dried cranberries
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2-3/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1-2 tsp maple syrup  (optional)
batter

Method

  1. Heat a medium pan over medium-high heat. Brush the pan with coconut oil, butter, or cooking spray.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a medium bowl, stirring to combine.
  3. Pour the mixture onto the heated pan. Shape the batter with spoon into a pancake shape (or a triangle, or a square, or a heart, if you are feeling particularly whimsical).
    cooking
  4. Cook the pancake for approximately 8-10 minutes, without touching it. At this stage, I placed a large plate over the top of my pan to keep in the heat and more evenly cook my pancake.
  5. When the 8-10 minutes is up, flip the pancake and cook for another 3-5 minutes. I used the plate trick again.
  6. Once the pancake is fully cooked, transfer it to a plate, slather on your favorite topping,and enjoy.
    bite
Leave a Reply

