Seven days without chocolate makes one weak.

It’s Christmas time, and that means Epic Level Baking: cookies, cakes, bread and bars galore! That is usually the tradition my mother and I follow. But this year, I wanted something different, especially since I’ve been invited to a Cookie Party. These parties are no joke. Very serious business. I’m talking if you displease the hostess, you. Are. Out. It’s happened.

That being said, I didn’t want to make the same old Christmas cookie. I wanted something new, exciting, and edgy. I also love boozy baking, so if I could incorporate that into whatever I picked, that would be awesome too. I’ve also been channeling my Mimi as of late. For major holidays, she would always make candy: fudge, peanut butter balls coated in chocolate, mints, truffles…you name it. She was the best.

When I was younger, she would sit me on the counter while she did her candy-making thing. I always wanted to help, so she would give me a spoon of peanut butter. She would  tell me that I needed to taste it to make sure it was right for the candy. There I would sit, happily eating a spoonful of peanut butter, a glass of milk by my side, watching Mimi delicately mold and dip chocolate confections.

In honor of Mimi, I decided to make truffles. I’ve also decided that they shall be red wine truffles in order to satisfy my need for boozy baking. I stumbled across the truffles during one of my Pinterest excursions. Have I mentioned my love of Pinterest? If not, I do love it. So much easier than having 3 million recipe books. And much more varied.

These truffles are creamy, silky, chocolate-y, and sneakily boozy. I used coconut oil instead of butter, and the subtle hint of coconut is divine. You can barely detect it, but I think it lends a great smooth texture and flavor. Who doesn’t love the chocolate/coconut combo? Who also doesn’t love the chocolate and red wine combination? So many wonderful things.

Red Wine Chocolate Truffles
Adapted from The Curvy Carrot

Ingredients

Without wine

1 cup heavy cream
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
8 ounces semi-sweet chocolate, chopped
12 tablespoons melted coconut oil
1 cup red wine (I used pinot noir, but you can also use Cabernet, Cab/Sav, Merlot, Merlot blend…etc.)

For the coating:

32+ ounces bittersweet chocolate, chopped
10 ounces white chocolate, for drizzling (optional)

Instructions

1.  Place the chopped chocolate into a medium bowl; set aside.

2. In a medium saucepan over medium-low heat, bring the heavy cream to a simmer.

3. Add the coconut oil to the cream and stir, shutting off the heat

4. Pour the cream mixture over the chopped chocolate. Allow to sit for 1-2 minutes.

no wine

5. Stir the mixture until the chocolate is completely melted.

mixing

6. Add the red wine and mix until thoroughly incorporated.

Wine in

7. Allow the mixture to cool slightly in the bowl. Cover and refrigerate for at least 4 hours (preferably overnight.)

8. Once the mixture has chilled and slightly hardened, gently roll the mixture into approximately 1-inch balls. I used a small cookie scoop for this part. If the mixture gets took soft while you are working, rechill it, as needed.

9. Place the balls onto a foil-lined rimmed baking sheet and chill until you are ready to coat the truffles with chocolate.

10. For the coating: In a heatproof bowl set over a pot of simmering water. Do not let the bowl touch the water. Be careful of steam, or it could mess with your chocolate. Once the water is simmering, turn it down, so the water stays warm. Use this to melt the bittersweet chocolate, stirring until smooth. You might want to add a tablespoon of coconut oil, or butter, to the chocolate to keep it smooth, and make it shiny.

11. Remove the chocolate from the heat and carefully roll each truffle in the melted chocolate with a fork, gently tapping each truffle to remove the excess chocolate.

12. Drizzle a decorative design on top, if you so desire. Or add sprinkles. Or a pinch of sea salt. The possibilities are endless!

wine

13. Keep refrigerated, or frozen, until serving.

Leave a Reply

