Did you hear about the herb who was an all round great guy, did loads of charity work and was always there to help?

He was a Tarragon Of Virtue.

Last post I discussed roasting your own pumpkin seeds. That was step one. Once I had toasted all those seeds, I started snacking. Holy delicious…and dangerous. Before I knew it, half the seeds were gone! I knew I needed to find another creative use for them…my stomach would thank me, too.

As I flipped through one of the many food magazines littering the kitchen counter, I came across pumpkin seed pesto. At least, I thought I came across the recipe. When I went to find it again, it didn’t exist. Maybe I had a divine vision from the culinary gods, maybe I had an unrealized craving. Whatever the reason, I scoured the internet to find something that matched what I thought I had read.

Pesto is one of those foods that you either love, or hate. I happen to be in the ‘love’ camp. I especially like that this one uses cilantro, rather than basil. I have been on a huge cilantro kick as of late. Cilantro reminds me of summer, and because our weather has been distinctively winter-like, I am in denial and acting out through food. I guess there are worse ways to act out.

I love this pesto. It’s fresh, tangy, and has a hint of toasted deliciousness from the pumpkin seeds.  I didn’t remove the shells from the pumpkin seeds when I made this, even though the original recipe said to. I like the toasted flavor they imparted, and I think it adds a great texture. But, if you want to remove the shells, then by all means please do so. I plan to slather this delicious sauce all over a batch of shrimp, and perhaps make tacos, or a very daring pasta dish. Oh the possibilities.

Pumpkin Seed Pesto
Adapted from Epicurious.com

Ingredients

pesto 1

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/4 cup water
2/3 cup pumpkin seeds (shelled or unshelled; I used unshelled, since I love that roasted flavor)
1 bunch cilantro leaves and stems
2 garlic cloves
1 tablespoon (or more) fresh lime juice
1 small spicy pepper of choice, or 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon honey

Method

  1. In a blender or food processor, pulse pumpkin seeds, cilantro, coriander seeds, garlic, and pepper in a food processor until coarsely chopped.
  2. With machine running, gradually add the lime juice, 1/4 cup oil, 1/4 cup water, and honey.
  3. Blend until coarse purée forms. Season pesto to taste with salt, pepper, and more lime juice, if desired.
  4. Enjoy anyway you wish. Over pasta, on bread, with a spoon….

pesto 2

Leave a Reply

