Unsavory characters…

crackers
I looked at last week’s marshmallow post and wondered what I could follow it up with. The only logical conclusion I could draw was graham crackers. Obviously! I mean, the only thing that goes better with marshmallows than graham crackers is peanut butter. And I am not yet sold on the pumpkin marshmallow and peanut butter combination….

Graham crackers it is!

I used the King Arthur Flour recipe, since I didn’t have graham flour, and I trust KA. They haven’t let me down yet. I thought the crackers came out great. I was a bit dubious about it. I did a lot of reading beforehand about the pros and cons of using graham flour or not using graham flour for this recipe. If I can find graham flour in my grocery travels, perhaps I will pick some up and compare this recipe with one that uses the specific flour. For science! Until then, this will have to suffice.

The crackers themselves came out crisp and a tad sweet. I really like that they use whole wheat flour and yet still have that lightness to them that store-bought grahams have; not the exact lightness, since they aren’t a perfect copy, but they are delicious. I will say that you should be super careful and watch them closely, as mine overcooked easily. Unless my oven is really misbehaving, which very well might be the case. I did cut them a little smaller, but I thought I had adjusted the time accordingly. In any case, “CONSTANT VIGILANCE!”

I did change the recipe, slightly. I omitted the white sugar. With the honey, I didn’t really think it was needed. I also think my sweet-tooth is a bit less than most peoples. Well, for homemade baking. All bets are off when it comes to getting a dessert out, especially at a fancy restaurant.

I hope you like this recipe. Whip them up and enjoy. They are quick, easy, and delicious. And why not…even if your boyfriend thinks you have too much time on your hands,  time on my handsand incredulously asks, “Who MAKES graham crackers?!”

I like making things. And, as I explained earlier, the next logical progression after marshmallows is graham crackers. I am pretty sure it’s in the baking primer.

Homemade Graham Crackers
Adapted from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients

1 cup Whole Wheat Flour
1 cup Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 large egg
1/4 cup olive oil
1/3 cup honey
2 to 3 tablespoons milk
additional milk for glaze
cinnamon-sugar (optional)

Method

  1. In a mixing bowl, combine both flours, salt, cinnamon and baking powder.100_1988
  2. In a separate bowl, beat egg till light, then add oil, honey and 2 tablespoons milk. Stir into dry ingredients until you have a fairly stiff dough, adding additional milk if necessary.
  3. Wrap dough in waxed paper and chill until firm, about 1 hour (or longer, if it’s more convenient).100_1991
  4. Preheat your oven to 375°F.
  5. Remove the dough from the fridge. Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead gently until it holds together.
  6. Roll dough out till it’s about 1/16-inch thick; make sure rolling surface is well-floured, or you’ll have trouble transferring crackers to baking sheet.100_1992
  7. Cut dough into 3-inch squares, prick each square several times with a fork, and place on lightly greased cookie sheets.100_1994
  8. Brush the tops with milk, sprinkle with cinnamon-sugar if you’re so inclined, and bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until crackers are lightly browned.
  9. Remove crackers from oven, transfer to a wire cooling rack, and cool completely.100_1996

Oh and one final PS: Homemade marshmallows DO NOT behave the same way as store-bought ones. They tend to dissolve in the microwave…ooops.

100_2000

Leave a Reply

