Which is the most religious cheese?

Swiss, because it’s holey.
Am I right?

Today’s post doesn’t contain Swiss cheese, but it does have Ricotta cheese. However, I couldn’t find any good Ricotta jokes. Alas.

Maybe a one liner?

When cheese gets its picture taken, what does it say?

Anyway, I have been wanted to make cannolis for a while now. But I hadn’t for a multitude of reasons: I didn’t have the cannoli dowels. I didn’t want to fry them–not only for the health reasons, but also because oil that hot scares me a little. (And I don’t have accurate thermometers…) I didn’t want to just make them for no reason because they are such a rich dessert.

Last night, my chance came, and the cannoli gods smiled down upon me.

100_1779

I had a big boyfriend-side family gathering. His grandparents, aunt, uncle, and cousins were in from out of state and it was a big to-do. I was in charge of rolls and was told I could make something for dessert as well. BAM Cannolis. I still didn’t have the dowels, but I had seen someone make cannoli shells with a pizzelle maker. I have a pizzelle maker. I had the cheese. I was ready.

I dug out my Mimi’s old pizzelle maker from the back of the closet.

100_1777

 I whipped up a batch of cannoli dough, and I started makin’ shells.

100_1778

100_1776

They came out nicely! They were crispy and light. They had the same texture and flavor of a fried cannoli, without the heaviness that comes from being fried. The filling was smooth, with just a hint of citrus. I filled them “to order” so they stayed nice and crispy. Perfecto!

I should add the caveat that these cannolis, while delicious, are not strictly traditional. I’ve tweaked the flavors a little bit to suit the season (Yay summer), the dinner menu, and my whims. But, that’s the fun of the internet! It’s buildable. We can all work together and come up with amazing things.

So, if any of you try something different, I would LOVE to hear about it. :)

So without further ado, I give you:

Pizzelle Cannolis
Adapted from Eating Well

Ingredients

Cannoli shell

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 large egg
  • 2 large egg whites
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted
  • 4 tablespoons almond milk
  • 4 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 teaspoons lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Method

  1. Preheat the pizzelle iron.
  2. Combine the first three dry ingredients together in a medium bowl and set aside.
  3. Beat egg, egg white and sugar in a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer at high speed until thickened, pale, and fluffy, about 5 minutes.
  4. Beat in olive and coconut oil, milk, lemon juice, zest, and vanillas at low speed.
  5. Add the dry ingredients and beat at low speed until just incorporated. Do not overmix.
  6. Lightly oil the pizzelle iron or coat it with cooking spray.
  7. Use 1 generous tablespoon batter for each pizzelle. Close iron tightly to press the batter into a thin layer. Bake until light golden, 30 to 60 seconds.
  8. Immediately lift pizzelle from iron with a butter knife and wrap it around itself, until the edges touch or overlap slightly. Hold the warm cookie in this position until the shell has cooled, and keeps its shape.  (If your iron makes 2 cookies, like mine, leave the second one on the iron, uncovered, to stay warm while you shape the first one. Once the first cookie is shaped, then repeat with the second.)
  9. Transfer the shaped shell to a wire rack to cool.
  10. Repeat with remaining batter.

Cannoli Filling

Adapted from Hedonia

  • 2 lb ricotta cheese, drained
  • 1-1/2 cups of unsifted powdered sugar
  • 4 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1-2 teaspoons lemon zest
  • Pinch cinnamon

Method

  1. Blend ricotta cheese in blender until smooth.
  2. Add powdered sugar, vanilla, and lemon zest.
  3. Pipe the finished filling into the cooled cannoli shells with piping bag or a zip-top bag with the corner clipped off.
  4. Serve immediately.

The filling can be made a day ahead. This can make the flavors even better, since they have time to sit and meld. Or, you can throw it together a few hours before….like me.

Leave a Reply

