How did the egg get up the mountain?

It scrambled up.

For the last few years, every July and August, the neighbors go on vacation. This means that my family and I get to take care of their 10 chickens. As payment, we get to collect the fresh eggs.

These eggs are delicious. The chickens’ diets are filled with veggie scraps and fresh fruit, in addition to their regular feed…sometimes I think they eat better than I do; and they are little food disposals, they eat every thing and any thing. I love that they get to eat well, and I don’t have to waste any scraps because, and I’ll let you in on a little secret, I don’t always compost. I try to, but sometimes I am in a rush and don’t have my cast-off bowl ready.  But, I’m working on it. And the happier the chickens are, the more eggs we get.

Long story short, the chickens have been happy, and we’re swimming in eggs. So, today’s recipe is an egg-cellent use of eggs. I’m makin’ omelets!

I was a little nervous about making an omelet, like a real omelet. I watch a lot of cooking competition shows where they have challenges asking the competing chefs to make a classic, plain, omelet to check their technique. And they fail. I looks so simple. It’s just eggs with seasoning. How do they mess it up? Is it really that hard? Clearly. If professional chefs can’t do it, how will I? Well, I think it’s partially mental. I just put on my big-girl apron and gave it the college try. I figured, worse come to worse, I would just have scrambled eggs.

But, it came out great! It didn’t break or crack when I folded it over the cheese. It was fluffy and light. I have to say, I impressed myself. True, it was a little browner that I would have liked, but that just means I have room for improvement.

I hope you like it, too! (And bonus: it’s not a dessert!)

100_1773

Ricotta omelet with fresh kale
Adapted from Real Simple

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs (1 full egg, 2 egg whites)
  • 1-2 tbsp milk
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 3-4 leaves of kale
  • 1/4 cup ricotta
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. In an 8-inch nonstick skillet, melt 1 tbsp coconut oil over medium-high heat. Add the kale and sauté until just wilted. Remove from the pan and set aside.
  2. Crack the eggs into a small mixing bowl. Add the milk, salt, and pepper. Stir with a fork until well beaten; set aside.
  3. Melt the remaining oil in the skillet, then slowly pour in the egg mixture. Make sure the egg evenly coats the pan.
  4. Continue to cook the eggs until all is firm, except for the center, which should still  be a bit runny.
  5. Spoon in the ricotta. Tilt the pan to one side and, using a spatula, fold about 1/2 of the omelet over the ricotta filling.
  6. Place the  kale on the plate.
  7. Place the omelet on top of the kale.
  8. Enjoy.

It’s really good with sriracha and a nice cup of coffee. While this can be for one person, if you’re going to be super active, you probably should share this with someone for breakfast.  Have some fruit on the side. It’s always better to share food. To me: to share food is to share love.

Leave a Reply

