And for today’s breakfast

The Debut Post on So Much Bun

That picture is a bit deceptive. I’m not really making cinnamon buns this week. I wanted to, but my conscience got the better of me. So, I’m doing a swap: Cinnamon Bun Baked Oatmeal! All the flavor of cinnamon buns, without all the fat and bad stuff. Don’t you just love me?

No? Well, you will after the grumbling dies down.

After dropping the ball last week and not updating, I knew I absolutely HAD to do something today. Last week was filled with 3 separate attempts at recipes which all failed. Hence, no update. And a lot of Molly grumbling.

But today, I wanted to do something delicious. I’ve been craving something sweet, and I haven’t satisfied it yet, so I’m hoping this will do the trick. And we all know I love oatmeal. By all accounts, this recipe should be an epic win.

I’ve adapted it from Chocolate Covered Katie. She has some great stuff. So, check her out! Now, on to the oatmeal!

I often cook for just myself…you wouldn’t know it by the sheer yield of food I make, but it’s true. This recipe is awesome because it IS just for one. Well, it says it is. I’m pretty sure you can break it into two servings. But, that is your prerogative. And…it’s not so much a ‘bun’, as it is a loaf. Whatever shape you bake your creation in is up to you.

100_1745

Cinnamon Bun Baked Oatmeal (for 1…but really probably 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Pinch each of nutmeg and allspice
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup applesauce  (or 1 mashed ripe banana)
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • heaping 1/16th tsp salt
  • Optional, for a more-buttery flavor: 1 tbsp oil or nut butter (if oil, scale the other liquid back)
  • Optional: 1 handful chopped pecans and/or raisins mixed throughout or on top

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease you baking pan and set aside.
  2. Combine oats, spices, applesauce, and liquid. Mix until all coated.
  3. Pour into a small baking pan, loaf pan, or 1-cup ramekin (or, for mini boats, two 1/2-cup ramekins).
  4. Cook for 15-20 minutes, or more until it’s firm.
  5. Finally, set your oven to “high broil” for 3 more minutes to give the oatmeal a nice crust.
  6. Eat and enjoy.

I topped mine with 2 tsp maple syrup and 1 tsp of coconut oil. Delicious. Mmmmmm. It’s got a slight tang from the greek yogurt, it’s chewy, soft, a little crunchy….heaven.

Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

