The Power of Real Maple Syrup.

I have a few confessions for you today. Here’s the first one: I have many guilty pleasures and most of them involve food.

Sure, the cravings change, rotate, and evolve to suit my mood, but the one that keeps coming back is my desire for maple syrup. Real maple syrup. Not the corn syrup kind, or the kind with butter flavoring in it which is also made with corn syrup. I’m talking about pure stuff. I used to hate it, but that was because I didn’t know any better; I’d only experienced the fake stuff. The ‘maple flavored’ syrup that is way too sweet. Sure, the fake stuff has it’s place. I mean, I’m not going to go to a diner and expect the gold standard of syrup.

So, in order to indulge, I decided to make pancakes. I adore pancakes. Who doesn’t? Usually pancakes are a weekend treat. I eat them and then have a very activity-filled day.  And I have to have an activity filled day because I have problems with moderation (That’s confession 2).

I like to eat more than 2 pancakes when I eat pancakes. I am committed, and have the appetite of a 17 year old boy.  Who eats 2 pancakes? That’s insanity.  Unless they are the size of your head…then you can only realistically eat 1, maybe 2. However, my pancakes are normal sized, and I eat them until I don’t want to eat them anymore.

But when I eat my fill of pancakes, I feel icky. Of course, it’s my body saying, “DAFUQ?! Why would you do that? Eat less, stupid girl.” But, I’m hungry and they’re there and  they’re delicious. And if I don’t eat more than 2, I’m hungry again in like an hour, which is just inconvenient…even though it’s better to eat many small meals. Yeah, I know. Do what I say, not what I do.

Why do they make me feel crappy, apart from eating too many? Too much sugar, too much fat, too much…white flour. I always try different ways to make pancake recipes healthier–better flours, better fats, less sugar. But, still. They just sit there, in my belly, making me say, “…ugh” and then want to go lay down.

Enter gluten-free, protein pancakes. And, keep in mind I’m not talking about gluten-free flour, or a gluten-free pancake mix. No cutting corners for this girl. You’ll see what I’m talking about.

Pancakes, syrup, fruit....mmmm.

See?

Yes, that is a shot glass full of maple syrup.

These are not going to be your typical fluffy pancakes, but they are yummy. I was given this recipe by one of my recipe buddies at the gym. The original recipe has almond extract in place of vanilla, but I put vanilla in my regular pancakes and wanted to keep that flavor. (And I couldn’t find any almond extract in our cupboard.) I also added 3/4 tsp of baking soda to make them fluffier.

Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

1 ripe banana, blended
2 eggs
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
3/4 tsp baking soda

Method:

1.Place the banana and the eggs in a blender or food processor. Blend until smooth and frothy. Add the cinnamon and the vanilla, blend again. You now have batter.
2. Place your pan on the stove, over low to medium heat. If you are using a nonstick pan, you don’t have to oil it. If not, then use some nonstick cooking spray.
2. Drop about 1/2 cup of batter into your preheated pan. Or eyeball it, depending on how big or small you want your pancakes.
3. Let the pancake cook until bubbles start to form and pop on the top, and the sides are set. Much like regular pancakes. Keep in mind it will take a while, like 2-3 minutes per side. Maybe longer. But be patient, good things take time.
4. Once the bubbles stop forming and popping, flip the pancake over to cook the other side.
5. Once the pancake is done, move to a separate plate. Top with maple syrup, nuts, fruit, peanut butter…whatever strikes your fancy. And enjoy.

When you’re cooking, remember Mad Eye Moody’s words to Harry Potter: “CONSTANT VIGILANCE”. Don’t let your attention wander, your hard work will burn otherwise.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did. They are tasty and just enough for one person, though I’m sure you could share if you wanted to. And, I got 4 pancakes!

Leave a Reply

