Back to Basics

You know when you were a kid and would make cookies. Well, you’d make the dough, but it never quite made it to the oven because you ate it all? Yeah, story of my life. And I shouldn’t even say “when you were a kid”…I’m pretty sure this happened last week.

There’s just something about raw cookie dough, To me, it often tastes better than the baked cookie, which frustrates the hell out of me. What also frustrates the hell out of me is the amount of stuff in cookies that makes me hate life and then go run at the gym. (I’m running from the calories. See, the calories don’t count if the dough isn’t cooked…is that logic? I think that’s logic…)

Anyway, clearly something needs to change. I can’t eat raw eggs. Salmonella and food poisoning aren’t high on my list of things to get today. Ain’t nobody got time for that. I also hate how I feel when I eat too much sugar and fatty things. And I’m not talking mentally with the “oh, I can’t eat that, I smelled water today”, I’m talking physically. I get slow, tired, cranky. Not a happy Molly, in other words.

What’s the answer? I could stop eating sweets and treats.Sorry, that was madness. Not eating sweets is not an option, instead I’ve been looking for ways to satisfy my cravings without sabotaging my well-being. Enter the world of raw baking.

I’ve been obsessed with raw ‘baking’. Can it be called baking? There’s no heat involved….whatever. I’ve made 2 types of raw, vegan, gluten-free pies. They were so delicious, if a bit misleading.

And today, I had the most intense craving for peanut butter cookies I’ve ever experienced. And what do I stumble upon? But a raw peanut butter cookie recipe.

It has 2 of my favorite things: Dates and nut butter. I am in heaven.

AND I can eat the dough without fear (and only a little guilt).

Image

Raw Peanut Butter Cookies

Ingredients
1/2 c almond flour
1/2 cup of peanut butter
1 cup pitted medjool dates
1 1/4 teaspoons of vanilla extract

Method:

– Combine almond flour, peanut butter, dates and vanilla in a food processor/blender and blend until a dough-like texture is achieved.

– Form into small balls and use a fork to press down and create a crisscross pattern.

– Store any left overs you don’t devour in the refrigerator. (yeah, right…)

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

