Straight From the Source Hot Chocolate and Big News

Hello!

My NZ twin flatmates live on a farm. Recently, one of their cows had a calf! Because of the baby, the family at home started milking the cow. When Claire went home for the weekend she brought back such goodies.

I’ve never had fresh milk, cream, or homemade cheese….until now. And let me tell you: believe the hype. It is the best stuff I’ve ever had. It’s just delicious.

The milk is richer and tastier. the cream is thick and the color cream should be. The homemade feta makes regular feta taste like a mild cheddar (aka, like nothing). It is nothing short of amazing. And, there are no hormones. No preservatives. Just milk. Straight up.

That means its only lasts 3-4 days. So, we have to use it up. OH darn. What to do, what to do?

Well, I made coffee with real cream. Blew my mind.

So I came home today and wanted nothing more than a decadent hot chocolate. Not one of those over sugared instant ones. A real one. So…I got out my stuff and made one. With real milk, real sugar, real cocoa. The way indulgence was meant to be.

You see that slight yellowish substance on top of the creamy white milk? That’s the straight cream. That is heaven in liquid form. You only need a little of the real stuff–the force is strong with that one.

Molly’s Nothin’-but-the-good-stuff Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

1 1/4 c milk

1/4 c real cream

1/4 c water

4 tbsp cocoa powder

1 tsp cinnamon

splash of vanilla extract

pinch crushed red pepper flakes

Method:

Measure out your ingredients.

Throw everything into a pot and bring to a boil, stirring continuously. Bring just to a boil. Make sure to watch it, and don’t let it burn. There’s nothing worse than milk with skin on it. ICK.

Pour the hot chocolate into mugs. Top with marshmallows if you wish. Enjoy.

This probably serves 2, maybe more, but I drank it all myself. And it was totally worth it.

And now for the Big News:

I entered a baking contest. It’s the Moore Wilson and Whittaker’s Chocolate Hero Day extravaganza! I entered about a week and a half ago, and hadn’t heard anything. I had given up on it. And then I got the acceptance email today. Talk about glorious news. :) I will do a post on the tart and let you know how I fair. I get judged on Sunday the 19th! Check out my other blog for details about the competition. (#shamelessadvertising)

Wish me luck!

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

