The American’s “Welcome to NZ” French Onion Soup

Oh hello!

Is there anything better than nice hot soup on a cold winter day? The only thing I can think of is a warm bed with a snuggly companion waiting for you. But, if you happen to be sans a snuggly companion–either in the form of a person or a fuzzy animal–then you revert to soup.

I love soup. I made this for our Sunday flat-family dinner. Of course, I don’t have any final product pictures, just pictures of the pre-process and other things. It’s ok. Just know it came out yum!  Throw some crusty French bread alongside and a flash mixed greens salad and you have yourself a gourmet dinner! Just be sure to drink sparingly with this meal, as a few flatties learned. Liquid dinners do not soak up liquid appetizers.

I did a lot of searching to find a recipe. Some called for red wine in the broth, other’s white. Which to choose?! Some said chicken broth, other’s beef.  And then there were the camps: ONLY white onions, ONLY red onions, MIX of both.Talk about consistency issues.

In the end, I just mashed together my own recipe. I ended up using beef broth and white wine, and a mix of yellow and red onions. Yeah, I’m a rebel.

I started with the French Onion soup recipe from Simply Recipes and then added what I saw fit. It seemed to come out fine. We didn’t have the flash little crockery for individually cheese covered bowls. So, we improvised. I didn’t drown the soup in cheese, either, as much as I would have liked to. I was trying to be a bit healthy about it.

The recipe says it will only serve 4-6….It definitely served 6 people, and we all had 2nd helpings, and leftovers for a couple days. So…unless I have some kind of holy quality that enables me to double the amount of food I produce, I guess I just don’t understand what a portion size is. :P Enjoy

French Onion Soup

Ingredients:

  • 9 large red or yellow onions, peeled and thinly sliced.
  • Olive oil
  • 6-8 cloves garlic, minced
  • 8 cups of beef stock)
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon of dry thyme
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 baguettes French bread

METHOD

1  In a large saucepan, sauté the onions in the olive oil on medium heat until well browned, but not burned, about 30-40 minutes (or longer).

2 Add garlic and sauté for 1 minute. Add the stock, wine, bay leaves, and thyme. Cover partially and simmer until the flavors are well blended, about 30 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Discard the bay leaf.

3 Serve immediately with sliced baguette.

Image

Enjoy with friends.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

