Molly’s Best-Boyfriend-Ever Star Wars Sugar Cookies and Summer-Withdrawal S’mores

So, I don’t know what you’ve heard, but contrary to popular belief, my boyfriend is the best boyfriend in the world. Hands down. I realize this is a very large claim to make, but I feel justified in my decision. Now I’m not going to wax poetic (much), but suffice to say…wow.

Being in a relationship is hard enough. Being in a long-distance relationship is borderline ridiculous. Being in a long-distance relationship, while your partner is in grad school, on the other-side of the world, takes a special kind of patience and insanity.

I could make a list of all the things about him I love, but I will just do the focus of my post…Star Wars cookie cutters.

Image

Seriously. How cool are these things? They cut out the shape of the character, and then they press in the features! SO high-tech. And he sent me them, in the mail. Now, receiving snail mail the best thing ever. Or at least I thought so; until I received baking accouterments through snail mail. Namely Star Wars cookie cutters. I didn’t think mail could get better. I was proven wrong.

So, I took advantage and have made a Star Wars themed Sugar Cookie recipe. I adapted it from here. My version is a little different, but still good(ish) for you. And here’s a bonus, because there’s nothing raw in it, the dough is safe to eat raw…not like uncooked eggs ever stopped me before…

Molly’s Healthy Sugar Cookies

Ingredients:

  • ¾ cup whole wheat flour
  • ¼ cup plain flour
  • ¼ tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt (just under level)
  • ¼ tsp plus 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • ¼ cup white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/2 tablespoons milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 325°.

Mix all the dry ingredients, except for the plain flour, in a bowl. In a separate bowl, mix the yogurt, milk and vanilla. Stir until combined. Then add the yogurt mixture to the dry ingredients. Stir. If the dough is too wet and sticky, mix in the plain flour, until you have a workable dough.

Spread a little flour on the table and use a rolling pin to flatten the cookie dough into a ¼ inch thick round. Use whatever cookie cutters you wish.

Or, if you don’t want to use cookie cutters, just use a drinking glass to get the traditional sugar cookie rounds.

Place the cookies onto a tray and bake for about 8-9 minutes. Allow to cool for about 10 minutes and then decorate them if you wish.

Here’s how mine turned out. Little Storm Troopers, Darth Vaders, Boba Fetts, and Yodas!

Image

I didn’t have the correct colors, or time, to ice them properly, maybe another time. Like when I’m not in the middle of my finals.

The cookies were for de-stressing during finals. As a treat for finishing up final projects and reports for the trimester (and to bring a little ‘Merican culture to my NZ flatmates) I also made S’mores. Now, to me, S’mores are the ultimate dessert. They are delicious and wonderful and warm and chocolatey and gooey and fill me with sugary, melty happiness. Marshmallow and chocolate and graham crackers are a trio made in heaven.

And they make me think of summer. For someone who’s going through Summer-withdrawal (and dealing with June being winter) I need all the help I can get. Sure, I had to get a bit creative in my toasting the marshmallow aspect, but I did it. American ingenuity, I tell you!

How did I accomplish this, you ask? Why with the handy dandy broiler in the oven, of course. It toasts marshmallows, it brulee’s bananas…it’s all purpose, really. And, has been the fashion, I’ve been trying to meld American food with NZ food. So, while my marshmallows and graham crackers are distinctly American, I used NZ chocolate…

You can use whatever kind you wish.

Molly’s Summer-Withdrawal S’mores

Ingredients:

6 graham cracker sheets
1 bag mini marshmallows
1 bar of chocolate

Instructions:

Take the graham crackers out of the sleeve. Break them in half. Place both halves on a baking tray.  On one of the halves place about 10 mini marshmallows. On the other half of the cracker place 2-3 squares of chocolate.

Set the oven to broil. Make sure the rack is on the second to highest setting. Place the baking sheet into the oven. It takes about 5 minutes for the marshmallows to start toasting. Watch it, though, they go from perfect to fire-hazard in a matter of seconds.

Image

Once the mallows have reached the perfect golden brown color, take the tray out of the oven.  Take the chocolate half of the graham cracker and smoosh together with the marshmallow half (so the chocolate and the marshmallow sides are together). Enjoy.

Image

This is a finger-lickin’ dessert. There is no way to eat it daintily and you will get messy. Enjoy every minute of it.

Ciao.

Leave a Reply

