Molly’s Bruleed Banana Scones.

Edit (6/18): Turns out I lied a little bit. I have found some pictures. I’m putting them in. But I’m leaving the Storm Troopers. Can’t go wrong with them.

Oh HELLO!

I made these the other day when I had some inner turmoil going on. It’s the end of the trimester, which means many reports/essays/projects are due and I am feeling the pressure. Being a graduate student is rough stuff. In order to combat the stress I broke out the apron and made Bruleed banana scones. And, holy moly. So much delicious.

I adapted the recipe from here. I didn’t use the glaze, and instead split the scone open and slathered it with peanut butter; which my flatmates informed me was a very “American” thing to do. What? Bananas and peanut butter were MADE for each other. And there’s just something about a nice hot, crunchy-on-the-outside, fluffy-on-the-inside, scone with ooey, gooey peanut butter. OM NOM NOM.

So without further ado…I recommend eating them warm…with peanut butter. Crunchy, if you have it.

Bruleed Banana Scones

Ingredients:

2 bruleed bananas (about 8 oz or 1 cup once mashed)
2-4 tablespoons milk, whole or 2%
1/2 cup (4 oz) plain yogurt, whole or 2%
2 1/2 cups (12.5 oz) all-purpose flour
4 tablespoons (1 1/2 oz) granulated sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoons salt
2 teaspoons cinnamon
4 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Instructions:

Set the oven to broil. Place the oven rack on the second to highest setting from the top. Split the two bananas in half, lengthwise. Place the bananas, skin side down, on a baking sheet. Sprinkle the upturned flesh with a little cinnamon. Place them in the oven for 5-8 minutes. Don’t let them burn, but they should get some browning. Once they’re done. Take them out of the oven, scoop the flesh out of the skin and mash the bananas. Add enough milk to make one total cup (if necessary). Stir in the yogurt and oil and set aside.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. Stir to combine.

Pour the banana-yogurt mixture into the bowl with the flour and stir just enough to incorporate all of the flour. Fold in the walnuts, if using. [Here the recipe says the dough will be really sticky. Mine wasn’t. In fact, I had to  add more milk to get it all mixed together…Maybe the weather was against me, maybe it was because I didn’t use butter. I don’t know. That was just my experience.]

Line a dinner plate with a piece of wax paper and turn the dough out on top. Pat it into a disk about 1-inch thick and cover with another piece of wax paper. Freeze the scone dough for 30 minutes. [I skipped this step and went straight to the baking. But, my dough wasn’t as sticky and they said it was supposed to be…and I was impatient for scones.]

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Peel off the top layer of wax paper and invert the scones onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Peel off the second layer of wax paper. Slice the scones into eight wedges and pull them apart a little to give them some room to expand.

Handy hint…the dough is delicious.

Bake for 25-30 minutes, until the scones are firm to the touch and turning golden-brown on the edges. Cool completely and cut apart any scones that baked together with a sharp knife.

They look like this:

Hot and fresh from the oven.

Hot and fresh from the oven.

Glorious. I hope you enjoy these as much as I did. Totally made up for my pressure filled day. And, I thought I had some pictures to go with them….turns out, I did a massive clean out and deleted them. Ooops [6/18: Please see the above statement…I found the pictures…and am including them. SO THERE. Yeah, I’m a badass. It’s my blog, I’ll do what I want!]  So, I’ll just include a random picture instead. Here…Enjoy some Storm Troopers doing the YMCA.

This is actually a teaser for my next post…Hmmm. What could it be about? You ask. Well…something delicious, I assure you. Maybe it’s not so random after all.

Enjoy. Ciao.

 

Leave a Reply

