Lamb two ways. Neither of them related to the other.

Oh Hello!

Image

It’s Sunday, and officially winter, down here in windy Welly, and that means a few things.

1)      Veggie market day!

2)      Finishing up homework and then doing my own thing

3)      Relaxation through cooking

4)      Keeping warm because the stove is on!

When I went to the grocery store, I picked up some cheap lamb chops. I love lamb. It’s wonderful, so long as it’s done right.

So, I came home with all sorts of ideas in my head for what I could make. I was thinking something like lamb masala, since I had “inherited” some Indian spice mixes. And that’s what I decided on. But, then I had the bones left over from removing the meat…so I decided to make soup stock. Mmmmm, lamb soup stock.

So, let’s start with the lamb stock, eh?

Lamb stock—Just like my momma used to make.

Ingredients:

4 cups water
2 lamb chop bones
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 stalk celery, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
1 onion, diced
1 bay leaf
salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions:

Take all the ingredients. Throw them  in a pot.

Image

Add the water and boil for about an hour or so. Et voilà! Done.

You can strain everything out of the liquid and just keep the broth. Or, if you are a poor university student like me, you can take the bones and the bay leaf out, keep the veggies in, and just add noodles, or more veggies, or rice, or all of the previously mentioned. No point wasting, eh? That’s my motto!

It came out so lovely. And, since one of my flatmates is apparently carrying the plague, it made her feel better. Ah, the healing power of a good soup.

This brings me to my next concoction. Lamb Masala. It’s not really. I just am using masala spices and making it up as I go along. So it’s more of a What Molly can throw together with Lamb and Masala spices Masala.

Here goes.

Molly’s Masala—very unauthentic and hopefully delicious.

Ingredients:

2 small lamb chops, meat cut off the bones and cubed (about a cup)
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, chopped
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 inch ginger, chopped
1 can crushed tomatoes (you should use fresh, but I neglected to pick them up at the market today)
1½ teaspoon turmeric
½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
½ teaspoon cinnamon
2 teaspoons masala spices

Instructions:

First, I marinated the meat. I took the cubed lamb and coated it in the olive oil. Then, I sprinkled ½ of the minced garlic cloves, ½ of the chopped ginger, the crushed red pepper flakes, and ½ tsp turmeric on top. I mixed it all around and made sure to coat the meat. Then, I let it marinate for an hour.

Next, once the hour was up, I sautéed the onion and the rest of the garlic and ginger, with the masala spices and the rest of the turmeric, in a little bit of olive oil. Once the onion became transparent, I added the lamb, cooking it through and getting a nice sear. Then, I threw in the tomatoes and the cinnamon, and a pinch of sugar. I let that simmer for about 10 minutes.

Finally, I served it up with rice and more veggies. I choose green beans, since that’s what I had in the freezer. But, any veg will do. Mmmm.

Image

Both my lamb concoctions came out lovely.

And now I have lunch/dinner for probably the rest of the week. Because when I cook, I cook.It made for a nice little lunch before we had a flash dinner of salmon, green bean and pesto packets, with homemade chips and carrots. No pictures of that, since I didn’t make it. Amy made it in honor of the Queen’s birthday. Huzzah for the Queen!

Well, happy Sunday, all! Enjoy. Ciao.

Leave a Reply

