Molly’s Upside Down Memorial Day: Roasted Garlic Turkey Burgers

Oh HELLO.

In the festive American-pride spirit, the girls and I celebrated Memorial Day! Thank you to all our armed forces for fighting for our country! I celebrated ANZAC day with them (and made ANZAC biscuits) so it seemed only fitting they should return the favor and celebrate with me. It was tons of fun! We sat, we talked, we laughed, we ate. It was an authentic American picnic—minus the warm weather, the sun, being outside (or in the USA), and the apple pie. Ok, so it wasn’t quite authentic. But, it’s the thought that counts.

So, what do patriotic ‘Mericans do to celebrate any good, public holiday? We grill!

What does an American girl, flatting in New Zealand, with no access to a grill, do to celebrate a good, ‘Merican public holiday? She makes burgers using the limited resources available to her! Talk about using her advanced education! Master’s degree? Most definitely putting that knowledge to good use!

Now, when I cook for Flat Family Dinner, I usually try to make something a little healthy. That can be rather tricky when making a burger. Mmmm, meat. Who doesn’t love a good burger? I decided to lighten things up a bit by making turkey burgers, and not just any turkey burgers: roasted garlic turkey burgers with homemade ciabatta buns. I’ve gone all flash. [Flash is NZ slang for fancy/cool]. I also made American potato salad and pasta salad. They came out really tasty; just like mum used to make…and still does. I’m just not there to enjoy it.

But, I’m going to share the burger recipe with you today. I found the recipe on one of my favorite sites, Yum Sugar, but changed it up a bit. And it was totally worth it. I’ve included the link to the original recipe. But I’m giving you my adapted version. Keep in mind that I don’t have a grill and therefore had to get creative in my cooking techniques to ensure the meat was cooked. I’m SURE these would taste so much better if they were cooked over an open flame. Please, if you can do that, do it! But, since I have no grill, I must make do.

Without further ado…here you go. The moment you’ve been waiting for!

Molly’s Roasted Garlic Turkey Burgers

Ingredients
1 1/2 pounds ground turkey
5 cloves roasted garlic (directions to follow)
1/2 cup finely grated Colby cheese
½ chopped white onion
1/4 cup dried breadcrumbs
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

Directions

Roasted Garlic
Never done it before? Fuggettabout it! It’s so easy. And tastes divine.
1) Preheat the oven to 400°F.
2) Take an entire bulb of garlic and cut off about ¼ inch from the top, so each clove is exposed.
3) Place the bulb into a small rectangle of tinfoil. Pour olive oil over the top of the garlic, just enough to coat it, about 1-2 teaspoons.
4) Wrap the foil into a packet, to keep the oil inside.
5) Place the packet into the oven, and roast for about 30 minutes. When taken out, the cloves should be soft and smell amazing.
6) Allow the garlic to cool, and squeeze 5 cloves out for the burgers. The rest you can do with what you wish.

The Burger
1) In a medium bowl, use a fork to gently combine ground turkey with cheese, onions, breadcrumbs, and roasted garlic. Season with salt and pepper. Gently form mixture into 1-inch-thick patties. (I got about 7 patties, though the recipe said I should only have gotten 4.)

2) On the stovetop, heat the pan with a medium heat, coat lightly with oil. Place the burgers into the hot pan for about 5 minutes a side. Don’t let them burn. Because we don’t have a grill, I then transferred the nicely seared patties to a baking sheet and placed them into a 350°F preheated oven and baked them for about 15 minutes, or until cooked thoroughly.
3) Serve with the bun of your choice, lettuce, tomato, and all the fixins.

We finished off dinner with Amy’s carrot cake and Nikki’s lemon meringue pie. Both were super delicious. I hope you enjoy! I know we sure did.
Happy Memorial Day to all my ‘Mericans back home!

Leave a Reply

