Molly’s Hedonist Oatmeal. Breakfast of Librarians.

Now, before I came to NZ I absolutely hated oatmeal. I could not stand it. I would have battles with my mom in the morning that went something like this. And clearly by “battles” I mean apathetic, it’s 7 in the morning, I really can’t be bothered to eat anything let alone argue about it, conversations that went something like this:

Mom: Molly, what should we have for breakfast?

Me: I don’t know. Pancakes? Cereal? Bagel with cream cheese? I’m not even that hungry.

Mom:  I think I’m going to make oatmeal. I’ll make you some, too. You have to eat something.

Me: *sigh* Ok. I’ll give it another try. But last time I really didn’t like it.

Mom: This time will be different. I bought new oats.

Me: *trying to restrain the sarcasm* Yay…

She would cook up the oats, or grains, or whatever they were and then put them all nice in a bowl for me, with some fresh fruit. She’d put out the milk, the brown sugar and the maple syrup. I would drown the oats in said sugary substances. I would eat half the bowl, and give up, condemning the bowl to a soon-to-be-scoured hell because the oatmeal became a brick that didn’t want to give up its residency.

That was my relationship with oatmeal. My, my how the tables have turned.

I don’t know what caused it, but I cannot get enough of the warm, creamy, oaty goodness. I am all about that stick-to-your-ribs, warm-you-up meal. Maybe it’s because of all the different combinations I’ve been making. Maybe it’s being upside down on the opposite side of the world and  plunked into winter again. Maybe I’m just growing up and my tastebuds with me. Whatever the cause: I love oatmeal.

And in honor of this, I would like to share my own recipe with you all.

I call it Hedonist Oatmeal. It has many of my favorite things crammed into it. I might refine it later, but for now, I think it’s perfect. It’s the breakfast of champions librarians!

Prepare to be wow-ed. (Also prepare to bear with me as I figure out how best to describe making this)

Molly’s Hedonist Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/2 c uncooked oats
1 1/4 c water
2 Tbsp raisins
2 bananas, sliced in half length-wise
1 1/2 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1 Tbsp peanut butter
2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Directions:

1)Banana brûlée

First, you have to make the banana brûlée. Don’t freak out. It’s easy. You don’t even need a torch! Just set your oven to broil and move the tray to the top most rack in the oven. Next, take the four banana halves and place them on a baking sheet, skin side down. Cover the exposed flesh with the brown sugar and cinnamon.

Next, place the bananas into the oven for 5  minutes or so. Keep an eye on them, to make sure the sugar doesn’t burn. Take them out when it starts to brown on top, forming a nice crunch. The flesh of the banana will be ooey and gooey.

Once the bananas are done, take them out. The look like this!

Brûléed banana goodness!

2) Make the oatmeal

Bring the water to boil in a pot. Add the oats and the raisins. Cook according to the instructions on the package (depending on if you use rolled, instant, or old fashioned). Keep an eye on it, stir occasionally.

While the oats are cooking, combine the cocoa powder, peanut butter, and the scooped-out flesh of one of the brûléed bananas in your breakfast bowl. Mix them together. Once the oats are cooked, transfer them to the bowl and stir until combined. Top with the other brûléed banana.

3) Enjoy!

This is the type of breakfast you eat when you’re going to have a killer day. :) Make sure with every spoonful you get oatmeal and banana.

Hedonist oatmeal and a coffee.

Leave a Reply

